Week 30

Hello, friends!  I haven’t been doing so well with the posting my updates on Fridays, but this time I had a special reason why I wanted to wait (more on that later).  I hope everyone’s week is starting out grand!  And now, without further ado, the update!

How Far Along:  30 weeks.  Let’s take a minute and repeat that number.  30.  That’s 3-0.  Holy crap.  I’ve gotten through 3/4 of my pregnancy and honestly it doesn’t feel like it.  The time is flying by!  Every day that gets ticked off the calendar, my anxiety level about giving birth creeps up just a little bit more.  I’m not as scared about being a mom as I am about giving birth.  On the flip side though, each day that gets ticked off is one day closer to the day we get to meet our son! 

Size of Baby:  “Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and he weighs almost 3 pounds.”  -babycenter.com  Speaking of size, look at the differences between 14 & 20 weeks (had to start with 14 weeks since I don’t have any maternity pictures prior) and 30 weeks!  Quite a growth spurt, little man!


Total Weight Gain/Loss:  Staying steady at 26 pounds.  I’m hoping to stay at the same weight for the next few weeks and get back on track, but we are going out of town tomorrow, so I’m not sure what exactly will happen!

Maternity Clothes:  I put on a regular tshirt the other night to sleep in.  I have always slept in tshirts and yoga pants.  Well, I pulled on the tshirt and could barely get it down to cover my baby bump!  I stretched it a little and managed as best I could, but I may have to start wearing Jeff’s tshirts to sleep in!  Aside from a few pieces I lounge around in at home and a few tank tops I wear under my maternity tops, I’m in fully blown preggo wear.  And that’s just fine by me.  A word, though.  Pregnancy jeans and low rise should not be used in the same sentence!  Just sayin’.


Gender:  A little boy! 

Movement:  Movement this week has been off the charts!  I had a couple glucose tests in the past few weeks and each time he decided he wanted to show off his flip flops and somersaults for me while I was waiting to get my blood drawn!  One of the greatest things this week was being able to feel him “click and drag”.  I am referring to when the baby sticks his hand or food out and draaaaaaaaags it along my belly.  He’s only done it a few times, but it’s such a new and interesting sensation!  Very cool!

Food Cravings:  Lucky charms and other sugary cereals.  I really need to only eat these as desserts and not as actual breakfasts because, yummy as they are, they only fill me up for an hour or two at best and then I’m starving again.  Plus the increase in sugar makes the crash even stronger!  No, thanks.  I’ll stick to my Quaker Oatmeal Square cereal with bananas instead.  That cereal keeps me full for hours!

What I Miss:  Being able to walk around without tiring so quickly.  I went shopping today and was out and about for a few hours.  By the time I got all my errands completed, I was beat!  My sofa and cross stitching were calling my name!  I am making this for baby Peanut:

Sleep:  Sleep has been pretty fantastic lately!  I think I finally broke my pillow in and I honestly have never been more comfortable.  Plus, with the chill in the air, Jeff put our microplush blanket on the bed, which makes it even more cozy!  As an added bonus, my back pain seems to have dissipated a little!  I no longer wake up in the morning and get out of bed simply because I can’t sleep due to backaches.  It’s really fabulous.  I just don’t know how things will work out when we go to Florida this week.  Time will tell… 


Symptoms:  Like I said above, my back pain has really gotten much better!  The only back pain I really can complain about happens when I close at work.  I work retail and one of our duties at the end of the night is to straighten the merchandise on the shelves, which is typically no big deal.  The problem here is that I have to constantly bend over to pull items forward.  One day of closing doesn’t really affect my back too much, but I was on a long stretch of closings last week and by the end of it, my back was super sore.  Thank goodness for Thermacare patches!

Another lovely symptom I have developed is heartburn.  I really didn’t know what heartburn was until the other night.  I was swallowing and my throat felt like it had caught on fire.  I told Jeff about it and he said that’s what heartburn felt like.  I promptly went to Walgreens today and bought a couple packs of Tums to take with me on vacation.  The last thing I want is to feel like I’m breathing fire for seven days!


Best Moment This Week:  Getting my test results back!  As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, I wanted to wait to post this week’s update because of a special reason.  That reason is that I went to my doctor today.  Let’s rewind a little bit though.  A few weeks ago, I was due for that glorious test we all look forward to…the one hour glucose test.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, you go into a lab or your doctor’s office, drink a bottle of extremely sweet, super syrup-y beverage, and sit for one hour.  Then you get your blood drawn and you go on your merry way.  After that, your doctor’s office calls you and tells you whether your glucose levels are in the “normal” range or not.

My doctor’s office called me last week and said my glucose levels were “slightly elevated” and that I needed to have the dreaded three hour test.  GROAN!  This test, much like the last one, consists of drinking the beverage and getting your blood drawn, only this time you have to fast for 12 hours and get your blood drawn four separate times:  once before you drink the drink and then once every hour for three hours.  I don’t know about you but sitting in uncomfortable waiting room chairs for three hours is not my idea of fun.  I came prepared though with my cross stitching and my iPad.  All in all, it wasn’t too terribly unpleasant, especially after I found out that I would only have to drink one bottle of glucose syrup instead of the three I initially had been warned about.

This morning, when I went in to my doctor’s office I only had two issues on my agenda:  get a note saying it was OK for me to fly and get the results of my glucose test.  I found out I passed my test with flying colors and all my numbers were way below the high point.  Yay for not having gestational diabetes!  (Does anyone else think of that white haired, bearded dude calling it diabetus in the commercial when someone mentions this disease?  lol)

Side note:  I honestly think they gave me the 3 hour glucose syrup to drink when I went in for my 1 hour test, which is why my levels were so high.  Maybe not, but I had two people (a CompuNet tech and an OB nurse) tell me the drink I was supposed to drink the first time was much less than the one the second time.  Interesting…

My doctor also told me my pregnancy was low risk which I knew, but it was nice hearing a doctor say that as well.  So there you have it.  That’s my long winded, somewhat boring glucose test story.

I will also say another one of my favorite moments this week was hearing Jeff talk about the baby.  He’s so ready to be a daddy and hearing the way he talks about our little man makes my heart grow!

 

What I Am Looking Forward To:  The babymoon!  Jeff and I had planned on going to Florida to visit my dad and stepmom even before we got pregnant, but now it works out even better!  I can think of nothing I’d rather do on vacation than lay in the sun, swim, eat yummy food, and get pampered by my parents!  Initially Jeff and I were going to take a few days and go over to Universal to ride all the rides and, most importantly, visit the Harry Potter park, but with me not being able to ride most things and wearing out so quickly, we are going to postpone this trip for a bit.  Maybe next time we go to Florida, we’ll leave Peanut with his grandparents and take a little side trip just the two of us.  If we can tear ourselves away from this kid!

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Jeff called me at work a few nights ago and said we had received something in the mail.  When asked what it was, he responded he didn’t know, but that it was from Bed Bath and Beyond and was big and heavy like a vacuum cleaner.  I opened the box when I got home to reveal our Pack ‘N Play from Jeff’s mom!  What a great surprise!  We set it up Saturday morning and decided two things:  1. the color is great and 2. it’s never leaving our house because it’s too hard to disassemble!  OK, that last statement isn’t true, but it will take some getting used to as far as breaking it down and making it travel friendly.  It’s currently parked in our nursery until after the baby shower at the end of the month.

In addition to our Pack ‘N Play, we have the crib and glider set up in the room.  I love both of them!  The glider is so comfortable I could sit in it for hours, which is good because it might come to that!  I am also working on decorations for Peanut’s room.  I have an idea for what is going to go above his bed and I’m sure when I get around to looking for other pictures I’ll have no problem finding things that look good.  Once we get the dresser in the room, I’ll really be able to start putting some decorations up.  I want to get all the furniture in place before adding accessories.

So, all in all this week has really been quite spectacular!  I feel great, I’m sleeping great (even with the getting up a few times a night to visit the potty), and Jeff and I have a whole week of togetherness coming!  This pregnant lady is very happy and very blessed. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Week 30

  1. Enjoy reading your posts !!! You have a real talent for writing. Looking forward to meeting “your little man”……what a joy children bring to one’s life !!! Have a safe and FUN trip to Florida…..

    Blessings,
    Diane

  2. Pingback: Week 31 (From Florida!) | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

