Week 28

How Far Along:  28 weeks

Size of Baby:  My little guy is 2.25 pounds and about 14.8 inches from the top of his head to his sweet little feet.

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  +21.6 pounds (though Jeff just informed me he read starting next week I could gain 1 pound per week for the rest of the pregnancy.  Great…)

Maternity Clothes:  Still wearing a mix, though I’m strictly in maternity pants aside from stretchy yoga pants (which I would live in if work allowed!)  I have several cute maternity tops I like, though, so wearing maternity clothes isn’t all bad.

Gender:  A little boy

Movement:  Oh my gosh!  Tons!  I love each and every time I feel him.  The other night I’m pretty sure he had hiccups.  I was sitting on the couch and I felt rhythmic pulses deep inside my tummy.  It was kinda cute!

Food Cravings:   I don’t really have cravings this week, but I will say something I’ve noticed during pregnancy is everything tastes much saltier than before.  Lean Cuisine pizzas and Chex Mix especially.  I was eating some Chex Mix last night and I felt like I needed a drink of water after every bit!  I’m sure this is just due to my heightened senses, but I find it fascinating.  I almost never have to add salt to anything anymore.  I will say I have been having trouble with drinking water lately.  It just has no flavor!  I’m loving lemonade lately though!

What I Miss:  Stomach sleeping and not waking up with a sore back!  I think they are related.  My pregnancy pillow props my head up a little higher than I normally sleep, so I think it stresses my upper back.  I try to lay on my stomach propped up on one side with a pillow when I lay on the couch.  Sometimes it provides some relief…other times not. 

Sleep:  Sleep, even with the pregnancy pillow, is honestly not bad.  I’m waking up about 1-2 times a night to go to the bathroom, but I immediately fall back asleep.  I’ve always been pretty good at that and I’m hoping this talent will continue after the baby comes.  Wake up, feed/change the baby, go back to sleep pretty quickly.  We’ll see what happens.

Symptoms:  Well, everyone told me I was crazy about my ear thing, but the past week I have been slacking on my water intake and my ear symptoms have started coming back!  I remedied that this weekend by really focusing on getting that water in. 

Best Moment This Week:  Getting the nursery painted and putting Peanut on the waiting list for daycare!  I have a whole mental list of things that need to get done and these two things were tops on that list.  The more things we complete, the better I feel.  We also finished childbirth classes this week, which I can tell you Jeff is not sad about!  He really does hate class!  I just have one more class to take at KMC, which is on breastfeeding.


What I Am Looking Forward To:  Getting the furniture and closet organization for the nursery so it will feel complete and put together. 

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  We got a call the other weekend that our glider was in, and after the nursery was painted, I wanted to put the chair together.  After about an hour trying to decipher the directions, I got most of the chair set up, only for Jeff to discover there was a crack in the seat!  Gah!  Now we have to wait for a second chair to be shipped to the store and exchange the one we have.  Boo!!  It will be worth it though.

I want to say a big CONGRATULATIONS to Katie at healthyheddleston.com!  She found out she was pregnant and shared the news this week on her blog.

I also want to say CONGRATULATIONS to Brittany at ahealthysliceoflife.com for giving birth to a gorgeous baby girl last week.

So excited for you ladies!!  Hope you are both feeling great and looking forward to the new chapters in your lives!  🙂

One thought on “Week 28

Leave a Reply

