Tater Tot Casserole

Today, while I was getting my cooking list ready, I stumbled upon a recipe for tater tot casserole.  Having never had this before, I thought it might be interesting so I added it to the list.

After paint shopping, grocery shopping, and painting half the nursery, I wanted a quick and easy meal to throw together.  This one sounded delicious, so I set about making it.  Jeff and I both thought it was pretty good!  I was smart and divided the recipe into two meals.  One is currently freezing for a future date.  Love my upright freezer!

Tater Tot Casserole
(allrecipes.com)

1 pound ground sirloin
1 onion, diced
1 tbsp olive oil
salt & pepper
1 can condensed cream of mushroom (I used the 98% fat free and it was great!)
1/2 cup milk
1.5 cups cheese
1 package frozen tater tots

Preheat oven to 350º.  In a large skillet, saute onion and ground sirloin in olive oil, breaking up the meat as you go.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Cook completely and drain.

In a small bowl, combine the cream of mushroom soup and milk thoroughly.  Spray a 2 quart casserole dish with cooking spray.  Put the meat mixture in the bottom of the dish and cover with soup mixture.  I tossed mine around to coat the meat.  Top with half the cheese, the tater tots, and the rest of the cheese.

Bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes or until casserole is heated through and tots are nice and crispy.

Jeff said it tasted like something you would get at Sonic!  I don’t know about that, but I do know I made my typical ketchup/mustard mix to eat with it and it hit the spot!  Not the healthiest meal on the planet, but definitely one to make again!

(These photos aren’t bad for my iPhone, are they?)

6 thoughts on “Tater Tot Casserole

  1. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: “Dump” Chicken and Other Such Things | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

