Week 27

How Far Along:  27 weeks (Does anyone else feel like this question is redundant since it says how far along I am in my title?  Just curious…)

Size of Baby:  Here’s what babycenter.com says:

This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds (like a head of cauliflower) and is about 14 1/2 inches long with her legs extended. She’s sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing her eyes, and perhaps even sucking her fingers. With more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. While her lungs are still immature, they would be capable of functioning — with a lot of medical help — if she were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother her, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  From my original weight I am up 21.6 pounds.  Honestly…I don’t think that’s bad at all!  Yes, I still have 13 weeks to go (holy crap that’s not a long time!), but I feel like I have been leveling out lately with my weight gain.  Plus, after reading several other blogger’s posts, I think Peanut had a growth spurt in the last month or so, which is why I put on so much weight so fast.  Apparently, another one is coming around week 30, so I’m prepared for that.  As I said last week, I’m trying not to focus on the numbers, but on how I feel instead.

Maternity Clothes:  I bought a few maternity polos to wear to work from the website they have set up for us.  The odd thing?  They don’t have manager maternity shirts!  How crazy is that?  Not that I necessarily mind wearing polos instead of button downs, but it’s weird to me that they don’t at least offer the dress shirt we are supposed to wear…

I did start sleeping in Jeff’s t-shirts instead of mine.  Mine were just a little to snug for my comfort.  His were just right.  😛

Gender:  A little man!

Movement:  Holy movement this week!  I am definitely making up for my worrying a few weeks ago.  The other night in our childcare class, I swear Peanut was doing the cha cha or something!  He was so active!  I absolutely love it.  Last night, while watching a birthing video in our other baby class, he was kicking so hard I thought he was gonna throw me off the bean bag I was lounging on!  He definitely likes the breathing exercises we participate in.  I think it calms him.  (Good to know for labor!)

Food Cravings:  Last night I craved Lucky Charms, but honestly my food cravings are pretty nonexistent.  As I said last week, I’m loving the soups lately.  I am taking a mini vacation from work next week to paint and organize some things around the house.  I plan to make several batches of soup to stock our freezer up with.  Currently on my list are Taco, White Chicken Chili, Italian Wedding,  and some other broth-y soups I haven’t decided on yet.  Anybody got a good soup recipe they love and want to share?

What I Miss:  Being able to roll over easily in bed!  What a fun thing that’s developed lately, this rolling over phenomenon.  Jeff and I have decided Peanut is not necessarily getting bigger as much as he’s getting more dense.  I feel like a beached whale some nights when I get in bed!

Sleep:  Sleep is still the same, though as I stated above it is harder to get in and out of bed.  Makes those nighttime bathroom breaks a little more cumbersome.

Symptoms:  I can’t remember if I talked about this earlier in my pregnancy or not, but sometimes I get this little spot of pressure right above my left hip bone.  It almost feels like there’s a foot or something pushing down in that area.  It’s not painful or uncomfortable really, just noticeable.

I also am having a harder time breathing when doing laborious things like climbing small hills to get to my car at the Renaissance festival.  Jeff, with his long legs, likes to walk faster than I do.  When we were walking back to the car, he kept up his normal pace while I struggled to just plain make it back!  I finally told him to slow down in between gasps of air.  Lugging around an extra 20 pounds in addition to having decreased lung capacity does not make for a fun jaunt!

Best Moment This Week:  Watching my little man play in my belly!  He seems so happy in there!  I love the reassurance I get every time he wiggles.

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Meeting Peanut!  The one thing that I have taken away from these classes we’ve been going to is how precious this whole experience is.  I can’t wait to meet my little guy and experience the world through his eyes.  Any time I think of taking him to Disney World and seeing him touch Mickey’s nose for the first time, eyes bright and full of awe, or showing him the glorious beach and ocean and how beautiful our world is, or taking him swimming for the first time, I get all emotional.  Jeff feeds of other people’s emotions.  He loves seeing me excited.  For that reason, I cannot wait to see him with his son.  He comments all the time that seeing the world through his child’s eyes is definitely going to be something.  I think that more than anything gets me…  (See?  Here go the waterworks and I’m not even doing any of these things yet!)


Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Nothing this week, but that’s no big deal.  However, my teacher did mention a few baby books in class last night that she thought were very helpful in raising children.  One I received for my birthday and one I purchased after Abby recommended it to me.  I am going to start reading both of these soon!

That’s all for this week.  Don’t forget to comment with any soups (or casseroles) you’d recommend for this mama-to-be!

4 thoughts on “Week 27

  1. To Peanut’s Parents: Yes, this is a glorious time (and so it was when two little children flew across the world from Korea and were placed in my arms). Always remember, that no matter what you worry about–colors of his room, the furniture he’ll sleep in, or the clothes he will wear–nothing takes the place of loving him and snuggling with him. He doesn’t care about material things, just the unconditional love of his mommy and daddy.
    Just thoughts from Grandma Peggy. Love you three.

Leave a Reply

