Week 25

How Far Along:  25 Weeks! 

Size of Baby:  Here’s what babycenter.com has to say about Peanut:  “Head to heels, your baby now measures about 13 1/2 inches. Her weight — a pound and a half — isn’t much more than an average rutabaga, but she’s beginning to exchange her long, lean look for some baby fat. As she does, her wrinkled skin will begin to smooth out and she’ll start to look more and more like a newborn. She’s also growing more hair — and if you could see it, you’d now be able to discern its color and texture.”  BC has the sex wrong, but you get the picture.  Wow!  A pound and a half!  Getting bigger every day!

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  My mom was in town the past week, so unfortunately I didn’t do my weekly weigh in this past Monday.  I have a feeling I’m going to be significantly up though, since we went out to eat a lot.  😦  I go back to work today, so focusing on healthy choices will be top priority!

Maternity Clothes:  I’m still mixing it up wearing non maternity clothes at home and more and more maternity clothes out.  While Mom was in town, we went on a big maternity shirt shopping spree and found several things that will work hopefully throughout the rest of the pregnancy.  I finally feel like my closet it pretty well stocked.

Gender:  A boy!  (Some questions like this one just feel repetitive each week.  lol)

Movement:  I’m experiencing movement each and every day now, though the strength of the movement has stayed pretty small.  I plan to talk to my doctor this next visit to see if that’s typical or if I should be feeling stronger kicks.  I’m not complaining in any case…just want to make sure the little guy is OK in there.

Food Cravings:  No special food cravings anymore.  No food aversions either.  I just kind of eat what I feel like when I’m hungry.  I have been doing much better with drinking my water though!  I have found I like really icy water drank through a straw.  Straws help me drink more water at any given time.  Plus I like to slurp up the last little bit out of the bottom of the cup.  Is that weird?

What I Miss:  As I said Mom was here for a visit this week and she enjoys having a glass of wine or some other adult beverage each night.  The first night she was here she ordered a cosmopolitan at Thai 9 and it looked De-Lic-ious!  I miss enjoying a cocktail every once in a while.  Even though some studies have shown drinking a glass of wine is OK, I just prefer to not take chances.  Only a few more months to go and I can contemplate having one!

Sleep:  Sleep, sleep, sleep.  Some nights (like last night) I sleep just fine.  Others, I’m awake every few hours trying to get comfortable and manage my back pain.  I have decided the past couple nights to try taking Tylenol before bed.  IT WORKS!  I can actually feel the pain melting away from my body about 20-30 minutes after I take it.  I figure if the doctors and pharmacists I talk to all the time tell me Tylenol is OK, I will continue to take it at night before sleep.  After all, your body NEEDS sleep to recoup and get back to zero, if you will.  The only problem?  It wears off in the middle of the night and I wake up around 6a with the back pain again.  I am going to look into 8Hr Tylenol tonight at work.

Symptoms:  Back pain as I stated above is still the thorn in my side.  Clogged ears, however, are becoming more manageable!  Last week, I went to the doctor and she prescribed a nasal spray to use.  I have been using it religiously every day and it seems to help!  She told me it would take a few weeks before I really saw results, but I noticed them a few days after.

Plus, with my increased water intake, I have noticed relief as well.  I honestly think my body did not have enough lubrication (in the form of water) to keep everything moving as fluidly as they should.  I will say that the days after I have a bad water day (not drinking enough), my ears seem more clogged and on days after I have a good water day, they are clear!  I don’t care if that doesn’t make sense…it seems to help me so I’m sticking to my beliefs!  😛

Best Moment This Week:  By far, the best moment this week was one I have been waiting for for a really, really, really long time it seems.  FINALLY after weeks of hoping, Mr. Peanut kicked Daddy.  The other night we were going to bed and I noticed Peanut was kicking pretty solidly and repetitively.  The way I was laying wouldn’t have been easy for Jeff to feel the kick, so I rolled over on my back and lay there for a minute to see if Peanut would continue.  After a minute or two, he started kicking up a storm again.  I quickly grabbed Jeff’s hand and put it over the spot I had felt the kick.

Normally, Peanut gets stubborn and stops kicking, frustrating both Jeff and myself.  That night, however, he decided it was the night to say “Hi!” to his papa.  He kicked Jeff five times within one minute!  We were both really excited, obviously.  Jeff compared the kick he felt to a little bug moving around under my skin.  (If you have seen the movie “The Mummy” where the beetles crawl around under the dude’s skin…that’s what he envisioned!  Weirdo…)  He hasn’t felt Peanut since then, but I know it will happen again soon.

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Registering and getting the baby room ready!  I have all kinds of ideas as to how to decorate and set up the room.  Now I just need to put my plans in motion!  I am taking a few days off in September and will hopefully get the room completed in that time.  I told Jeff we have to have everything bought and ready to go by Tuesday morning of that week so I can quickly get to work.

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Nothing really purchased this past week, though I have spent SEVERAL hours in Buy Buy Baby and Babies R Us, not to mention on their websites deciding what exactly we need to put on the registry and which products will work best for our little man.  The plan is to go to BRU this weekend and register for some things (mostly the big stuff for now I’m assuming) and then keep adding to it over time.  I’m honestly ready to get one thing checked off our list of things to do!

One thing I started this week was researching day cares.  I checked a couple out yesterday and will continue to look around at the places nearby until we find one that fits our needs and our budget.  One place we went was amazing, but the price tag was a little steep.  The other place was OK, but I think there’s something better out there for Mr. Man.  If anyone reading has a good recommendation for me, I am all ears!

And just for fun, a little side by side comparison of weeks 15, 20, and 25.  I was feeling really big and fat tonight, but then I looked at the comparison of pictures.  I look so much happier in the 25 week pictures!  Maybe being pregnant agrees with me?

Leave a Reply

