Week 23

How Far Along:  23 weeks

Size of Baby:  About 11 inches long and a little over a pound.  Babycenter.com says my little guy can feel me dance.  Even more reason to crank up the music and shake it around my kitchen while making dinner!

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  13.8 pounds.  This week was a much more successful one weight wise.  I was only up .4 pounds!  I did as I said in my last post and focused more on eating whole foods.  I ended up having Chick Fil A one night only because I worked an extra 1.5 hours and didn’t feel like cooking or going to the store.  Jeff and I shared fries and I ate more honeydew than anything else.  I still have a sweet tooth, but more often than not it can be curbed by fruit instead of chocolate.  I’m still eating ice cream nightly though.  Girl’s gotta have her vices.

Maternity Clothes:  Still working on a mix of things, but I am definitely needing a few pieces to feel completely comfortable.  For one thing, most of my shirts (unless they started too long to begin with) are getting to be too short to wear.  That’s one thing I like about maternity tops…added length to cover the bump!  I also wouldn’t mind having a few pairs of maternity yoga pants.  All in good time, though.

Gender:  It’s a boy!  Every time I see a little guy, I get all wishy washy.  I still can’t believe we’re having a boy, but I think I’ll say that until he’s here.

Movement:  I feel him moving more and more each day.  I don’t have to be sitting completely still anymore to feel him, though he’s still being stealthy about his movements.  Jeff still can’t feel him, but I definitely can:  little twitches here and there throughout most of the day.

Food Cravings:  It’s gone back to fruit for the moment, though I’m still loving the artichoke.  I had two artichokes last night and was trying out a new method of cooking them.  Of course, it didn’t work and I basically went from having two whole artichokes to about 1/2 of one.  I nearly cried!  I bought a honeydew the other day and within 2 days it was gone.  I think Jeff had 1/8 of it and I ate the rest.  It was so good!  I saw cherries on sale at Kroger today and didn’t pick any up.  Now I’m regretting it and kinda tempted to make a quick stop just to get some!

What I Miss:  Yesterday I had a pretty trying day at work and really would have loved to come home and have a couple glasses of wine, so that’s probably what I miss right now.  In all honestly though, sitting here today I am having the hardest time thinking of anything I truly miss.  Last week I wrote that I missed sleeping on my stomach and, while I still can’t sleep on my stomach, I have found it isn’t as uncomfortable to lay on my stomach for short periods of time.  I typically only do it for a few minutes before I get worried I’m crushing Peanut and roll over.  😛

Sleep:  Sleep is still really good!  Some nights I sleep the entire night without having to get up to go to the bathroom, other nights I may wake up once.  My pillow really is wonderful and I would recommend it to any pregnant lady!  It’s so nice being able to roll over without having to move my pillow with me!  Jeff doesn’t like it all the time though because it’s sort of like having a fortress around his wife.

Symptoms:  Last week, I wrote about having a clogged left ear and how annoying it was.  After talking with my doctor and my pharmacist, I tried both Zyrtec and Sudafed.  One day I took Zyrtec, the next I took Sudafed, and the third I took all three.  None of them really helped all that much.  After hours and hours of googling the symptom, I resigned myself to the fact that it was going to be here until Peanut arrived.  Then, out of the blue, it went away Wednesday night!  It’s still gone (hopefully for good), but if it does come back that’s OK.  Obviously I don’t want this crazy symptom, but if that’s the worst thing that happens to me, I’m OK with that.

Best Moment This Week:  Feeling Peanut move more and more.  I feel like he’s constantly doing flips and flops in there, but subtly.  I honestly can’t wait to feel a big kick!  And then, after a couple, I’ll probably be over it.  Oh well…  lol

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Well, it’s not really pregnancy related so much, but that’s OK.  My mom is coming for a visit next week and my sister is also visiting next weekend!  I’m really excited for my family to see my big belly and gab about the new little being we are going to be blessed with!

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Again, not really pregnancy related…I found out one of my favorite scrapbooking companies makes digital products, so I bought a whole bunch of stuff to continue making Peanut’s scrapbook!  Like I said, it’s not completely pregnancy related, but then again it is!

I hope all of you are well this week!

3 thoughts on “Week 23

  1. Pingback: Week 24 | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

