Week 22


How Far Along:  22 Weeks!  Only 18 weeks to go.  That’s 4.5 months.  Doesn’t seem very long, does it?

Size of Baby:  According to babycenter.com, Peanut is roughly 11 inches (the length of a spaghetti squash) and 1 pound.  This means he grew about 3 ounces since last week.  Growing in leaps and bounds I tell ya!  Here’s an illustration to help you visualize things:


(source)

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  As of Monday (which is when Carolyn and I do our weekly weigh in), I had gained 13.4 pounds, up 2.4 pounds from last week!  I’m not entirely sure this is right as I could have been retaining water, but either way I am focusing more on eating whole foods instead of packaged ones.  My insane sweet tooth (thanks, Peanut) is not helping things though!  I have purchased a lot more fruit than I have been keeping in the house, so hopefully my sweet tooth will be satisfied with strawberries and honeydew instead of white fudge covered pretzels or Reese’s smores…

Maternity Clothes:  Last week I talked about going on a massive shopping spree for maternity clothes.  Somehow, this week, I seem to not have enough pants to wear to work.  This is partly due to my lack of laundry doing, which I’m remedying today before work.  I have decided I need to go through my closet and pack up all my clothes that don’t fit.  I look in my closet and see a sea of clothing, but once I start really looking, I realize only about 25% of the clothes in there fit me!  OK, that percentage may be a tad low, but that’s how it seems sometimes!  I’m definitely going to order a few more things from Old Navy.  I like buying work clothes from there because they are relatively cheap and if I mess them up I don’t feel too bad about it.


Gender:  It’s a boy!!  I find myself thinking of my little man more and more often.  We are so excited we are having a boy first.  Obviously Jeff is over the moon with excitement.  He has a little boy he can mold into an exact duplicate of himself!  Lord, am I in trouble.  That little boy is going to get away with murder if Jeff teaches him how to act all cute and innocent…

Movement:  On Sunday night, after I got home from work, I was reading my book in bed, when I felt something (it felt kind of like fingers or an elbow or knee) brush quickly against the inside of my stomach.  I immediately said to Jeff “I think I felt something”, which he responded by putting his hand on my belly like he was going to feel something.  Of course, he wouldn’t be able to, but it was cute that he’s so excited to feel something!

The next night, after I got home from work, I was laying on the couch watching TV and I felt something similar to a muscle spasm.  I lifted up my shirt and I swear I saw my belly shake a little.  I think I may have been imagining this as it hasn’t happened since, but who knows.  I still feel little movements every so often, but Peanut is definitely taking his sweet time making his presence known.

Food Cravings:  Fruit has been a big one lately, but mainly because I haven’t had it in the house.  I bought a bunch of peaches the other day and forgot to take them out of the plastic bag when I got home.  There was one rotten peach in there (how did I miss that?) that ruined the entire bag.  I almost cried when I had to throw the pile out.  I haven’t had the heart to replace them yet.  lol

(Update:  I wrote that paragraph on Wednesday and yesterday, after my doctor’s appointment, I went to Kroger and filled half my cart with produce.  I’m over the loss I guess!)


What I Miss:  Sleeping or laying on my stomach.  I haven’t been able to do this for a while, but only recently have I realized how much I miss it.  I am able to sleep half on my side, half on my stomach, but any time I lay completely on my stomach, it hurts.  Obviously I don’t do this ever because who wants their stomach to hurt when they are laying down?

Sleep:  Sleep is still pretty good, but some nights back pain takes over and I have a hard time getting comfortable.  I have found on the nights I have back pain flare ups, I have crazy, vivid dreams!  I may have to start doing some light stretching before going to bed.

Symptoms:  The craziest thing lately is the clogging in my left ear.  It’s only in my left ear and it comes and goes all the time, the worst being in the morning.  If I sit in silence I don’t even notice it, but when I turn on the TV or try to talk to someone, it sounds as though they are speaking to me underwater.  Not as muffled, but that’s the closest thing I can compare it to.  I talked to my doctor and the pharmacist at work and they said it’s normal.  I was told I could take Sudafed to try to clear it up, which I did last night.  It seemed to work, but this morning it didn’t help at all.  My doctor also said I could try Zyrtec to see if that helped at all, but I haven’t tried it yet.  It’s more annoying than anything and it’s not hurting me, so I’ll probably just have to deal with it.  I’m wondering if it’s partly due to the allergy season that is upon us.

Another weird symptom is pain in the balls of my feet…the worst being after lying in bed!  When I get up in the middle of the night to pee (getting more and more frequent I’m afraid), the balls of my feet ache.  After walking around a little in the morning, I don’t notice the pain as much.  Weird, huh?

Best Moment This Week:  Hearing that everything is progressing nicely with Peanut.  I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday and he said the baby seemed very healthy.  I got a clean bill of health too.  Well…sort of.  My doctor did say I was putting a little extra weight on, which I kind of talked about above.  Like I said, I’m trying to focus on healthier options and avoid the packaged, high sodium stuff.  Hopefully I’ll have some good news to report next week.


What I Am Looking Forward To:  It’s the same as last week…feeling the baby kick.  I’m talking a Hey, Mom! I’m really here and Dad can feel me now too! kind of kick.  It’s coming…

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Two!  One is pregnancy related, the other sort of but not really.  First, my mother-in-law got us our crib bedding (pictures to come), and brought it over Tuesday night so I would have the fabric to work with when deciding on paint colors.  Love this bedding! (Thanks, T!)

The other purchase I made was an upright freezer from Home Depot.  I have been wanting one for quite some time and I finally decided having a baby was the perfect time to get one.  It will be delivered next Saturday and I am planning to have a whirlwind cooking session to make casseroles, soups, and other goodies to have on hand for the first exhausting blissful months of parenthood.  It will be especially useful when I make all that homemade baby food I’m hoping to make!

All in all, it’s been a good week.  I figure no changes is a good thing as baby and I have been pretty healthy this whole time.  I’m starting, slowly but surely, to add things to the registry.  It’s hard picking out stuff for the baby not based solely on looks alone.  When you’re in the store, you don’t really have access to all the consumer ratings.  I have a general idea of what I need, but it’s still overwhelming to go into the store and have so many different choices!  I need a BRU survival guide.  I’m sure I’ll figure everything out and until then I’ll ask lots of questions!

For those of you interested in seeing the ultrasound video from last week:

3 thoughts on “Week 22

  1. Pingback: I Have Back Pain | Pain Relief General Tips and Resources

Leave a Reply

