Week 21: An Extra Special Post

I was going to put “This week on a very special Blossom” as the title, but unless you are Carolyn (or a huge Friends fan) you wouldn’t have gotten it!  Today I will reveal the sex of the baby as it was revealed to me earlier today!  But we’ll get there…

How Far Along:  We are officially over the hump and on the downhill coast.  Today marks 21 weeks of being with child!  I still, even after seeing pictures and hearing heartbeats, cannot believe I’m pregnant.  I am thankful every single time I walk out of the doctor’s office getting a “good report”.  Keep on getting those good marks, Peanut!  🙂

Size of Baby:  Babycenter.com says Peanut is 10.5 inches long and about 10-14 ounces.  I know, because of the ultrasound earlier today, that my little Peanut is 13 ounces!  Right on track!


(This is a picture of the actual size our baby is supposed to be according the the Pampers Hello, Baby app.  This is how Peanut was positioned, except flipped vertically.)

Total Weight Gain/Loss:  I am right at 11 pounds gained.  This is one pound heavier than last week.  I was having a little weakness for McDonald’s breakfasts earlier in the pregnancy, but I knew that wasn’t healthy for me or baby, so I have decided to cut them out and eat whole grain cereals and oatmeal for breakfast.  I want to put on enough weight for baby, but not too much weight for mama!

Maternity Clothes:  Since I was off Tuesday and Wednesday this week, I went on a massive maternity pant/short shopping spree.  I went to so many stores looking for bottoms (and some tops) that didn’t make me look bigger than I was and were still comfortable.  I have decided maternity clothes, even though they are apparently better now than they used to be, are still ugly for the most part.  I have found if you pick the right types of clothes (empire waists mainly), you can totally get away with wearing regular clothes.  So much more variety and cheaper too!  Now, this being said, you may have to go get a few pairs of pants and shorts, as I did.  BUT, my friends, you can also pick up a Be Band (or belly band) and extend the lives of your pre-pregnancy pants!  They are pretty fantastic!

Gender:  In case you haven’t deduced from the sash I’m wearing in the pictures above, we are having….a little boy!!!



(That arrow would be pointing to his little penis!)

Jeff and I are so freaking excited we can’t stand it!  We would have totally been excited either way, but I just had a feeling I was having a boy for most of the pregnancy and I was right!  I posted something about finding out the gender on Facebook this morning and my friend Lauren told me to live on the edge and not find out, to which my mom agreed.  When I called my mom earlier today, she asked if “Peanut has nuts or not”.  I said to her, “Well, you wanted me to wait to find out the sex…what if I don’t tell you?” and of course she was like “OH that’s not fair!”  When I told her, she was so excited.  I’m sure she will be searching and searching for baby clothes for my little man in no time.  🙂

Movement:  I’m still waiting on Mr. Peanut to tell me he’s around.  I keep feeling little (I’m talking tiny) twinges of things I think might be kicks, but I really don’t know and until they basically bang me on the side of the head (err…stomach) I won’t really realize they are truly kicks.  I’m OK with waiting until he’s ready though.  *Side note: as I was typing this I felt something on my right side.  Could be a gas bubble, could be movement.  Who knows?


(That blue material is my tank top, not my bra…in case anyone thought that!  lol)

Food Cravings:  Artichokes!  I can’t seem to get enough of them lately.  In fact, just today for lunch I tried a recipe from Giada and absolutely loved it!  I can’t wait to share it with you guys.  I am also loving the steak lately, but really trying to eat it sparingly.

What I Miss:  Margaritas.  It’s hot outside and I still am having a taste for them.  It’s funny, before I was pregnant, I didn’t really like margaritas all that much.  Now, that’s all I want!  I’m lucky in that no foods make me sick, I can still sleep relatively easily, I don’t have to pee every five minutes, and I just feel good all around!  I don’t miss much because I’m too busy appreciating still feeling normal!


Sleep:  Sleep is still great!  Every so often I have a bad night where I wake up and my back hurts, but this is typically after I’ve had a somewhat hard day at work.  I am getting better and better at asking people to lift things for me, which helps alleviate the back pain.  I am only going to the bathroom 1 time a night, which is how often I used to go to the bathroom pre-pregnancy.  No complaints in this department!

Symptoms:  Mood swings!  My poor, but fantastic husband is a trooper and puts up with all my irrational outburst and hysterical crying.  The other day I broke down and had a 15 minute sob about…nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  I think he told me I was wrong about something insignificant and I took it the wrong way.  Then I couldn’t stop crying.  I told him to leave me alone because, of course, it was all his fault I couldn’t stop crying, so he did.  I ended up taking a bath and quietly calming myself down in the tub.  I went and apologized to him later and he said not to worry about it, that I was pregnant and these things were bound to happen.  What a great guy!  I really, truly hate the hormone imbalance your mind and body go through with pregnancy, but it will all be worth it in the end.



(Kind of a creepy picture…this is his face from the font.  His “skull” picture. That black orb towards the top of the picture is one of his eye sockets.  As you may have guessed, we opted to forego the 3D pictures.  I kind of like the idea of being surprised by his features!)

Best Moment This Week:  Finding out the sex!  We have been looking forward to this day for 3 weeks and I am so excited that day finally arrived and brought us good news!  As I said before, I just wanted a healthy baby, but to know we are having a little man just makes my heart sing.  One of the moms in a Facebook group I’m a part of said once she found out the sex of her baby, she felt instantly more bonded to him.  I know exactly what she means.  My little guy is safe and sound in my belly and I could not be more thrilled!

What I Am Looking Forward To:  Feeling those first real, unmistakeable kicks!  I know Mr. Peanut will make his presence known when he’s good and ready and until then I’ll wait.  Jeff and I do have a little moment each day where we sit quietly and see if I can feel the baby.  I can’t wait to feel those kicks and share them with Jeff.  Just thinking about it makes me get all teary eyed.

Any Fun Gifts/Purchases Received/Made:  Two!  One, I received a few weeks ago and forgot to share (because I decided to skip Week 19 apparently) and one I bought just today!

I received this from my mom.  She found it at Hallmark!  They are little individual, magnetized letters you can string together to form words.  Of course, she spelled out Peanut!  She said she wanted to find something with a peanut on it and then saw these letters in the back of the store.  I thought this little gesture of love was wonderful and as soon as I opened the box I started crying.  (Raging hormones?  Nah…)  It is the first decoration for Peanut’s room and I can already see exactly where I want to put it once we get the furniture and everything picked out and assembled.

These two articles of clothing I bought today right after the ultrasound!  I went to Babies R Us to look at a few of the cribs I had put on my wish list to check out and walked right past the clearance rack.  The little swim trunks caught my eye first.  I mean, come on.  How can you not love little Hawaiian print swim trunks?  They are so small!  I love them!

Then I saw the Hawaiian print onesie and, since I’m a Hawaiian girl at heart, I had to get it.  At first, I thought it was just a shirt but no!  It’s a onesie!  Hopefully they will fit Peanut next year.  I took a gamble.  Hopefully it pays off!  These are the first two pieces of clothing I bought for the little guy (obviously since I didn’t know the sex until today).  They look so cute hanging in his closet.  🙂


Thank you, everyone, for the well wishes.  Jeff and I appreciate them greatly and we know you all are just as excited as we are to meet this little guy!

Until next week…

2 thoughts on “Week 21: An Extra Special Post

  1. How exciting!!! I’m so happy for you. Reading your recaps and seeing your sweet first purchases makes me relive my summer last year and going through those same footsteps! Are you going to reveal Peanut’s real name? That’s a perfect profile ultrasound! So cute:)

Leave a Reply

