Pistachio Chicken

So there I was, watching an episode of Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes when she mentioned having her chef prepare his famous Pistachio Chicken for a guest she was having for lunch.  Pistachios?  With Chicken?  The more I thought about it, the more yummy it sounded.

I googled “oprah pistachio chicken” and found this recipe.  Now, I’m all about cooking with lots of ingredients and using anything necessary to achieve the perfect dish, but that day I didn’t feel like it.  Instead, I went to the source and found a different recipe for Pistachio Chicken.  This one was much easier with far fewer ingredients.

The first time I made it, it turned out a bit soggy, but it was still delicious!  For one thing, I didn’t measure the ingredients for the honey mustard coating and secondly, I followed the directions for cooking against my better judgement.  The recipe tells you to preheat the oven to 500º and then turn it down to 375º as soon as you put the chicken in the oven.  This time I made a few tweaks and it turned out fabulously!  If you like pistachios, you should definitely make this!

Pistachio Crusted Chicken
(adapted from allrecipes.com)

1 pound chicken breast, butterflied
1 cup pistachios, chopped
1/2 cup bread crumbs
3* tbsp olive oil
3* tbsp honey
3* tbsp dijon mustard
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 500º.  Place a cooling rack over a sheet pan and spray with cooking spray.

In a shallow dish, combine the pistachios and breadcrumbs.

Side note: if you are thinking, “Who wants to shell all those pistachios?” I gotcha covered.  Head to Trader Joes and pick up a bag of their Pistachio Nutmeats.  What a time saver!  Also, use your blender or Magic Bullet to make short work of smashing all those nuts.  🙂

In a separate dish, combine the olive oil, honey, dijon mustard, salt, & pepper.  (BTW, this makes an extremely yummy honey mustard.  You may want to make extras in a separate bowl for dipping!)

Coat each piece of chicken first in the honey mustard mixture and then in the pistachio mixture.  Place chicken on the cooling rack and place in the oven.

Unlike the original recipe I suggest you bake at 500º for 5 minutes, then drop the temperature down to 375º for 15 minutes or until cooked through.

The resulting dish is slightly sweet yet savory and I think it’s perfect!  Jeff, not really caring for nuts, wasn’t a huge fan of it, but as I said before if you like pistachios, you must try this!  It’s good the next day even if it’s not crispy!

*I followed the recipe and used 2 tbsp of these ingredients, but next time I will probably bump it up to 3 tbsp each to ensure even coating of the chicken.

6 thoughts on “Pistachio Chicken

  1. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: Grillin’ Frenzy | One Girl's Taste On Life

  3. Pingback: Get Crackin' With 50 Pistachio Recipes from Bad Domestic Goddess

Leave a Reply

