JM 30 Day Shred, Day 5

Day 1:  Feeling good!  Did the workout and felt tired, but satisfied after completing.

Day 2:  It was truck day at work, so by the time I got home my body was physically exhausted, so it took extensive amounts of motivation to get me moving.  Once moving, I only completed about 1/2 the workout due to my sheer exhaustion and massive headache.  Hopefully tomorrow goes better.

Day 3:  Holy lord!  Have you every hated something with so much intensity you just literally want to throw it out the window?  That’s how I felt about the workout today.  I was so angry that I had to do the workout, I was considering breaking the DVD just to have an excuse not to complete it.  WTH?  Finally, after Carolyn told me I could skip the workout, but still do some sort of exercise, I decided I didn’t really want to be a quitter and went ahead and completed the workout.  I’m glad I did.  It wasn’t as bad as I was originally thinking, but I still have some strong feelings about the workout.  It’s only Day 3…I’m not sure how I can do this SAME EXACT WORKOUT for 7 more days…

Day 4:  Today was…interesting.  My gym has Zumba (which by the way if you haven’t tried it…TRY IT!  SO FUN!) on Thursdays at 5p now and I have been wanting to go for the past few weeks.  Since I was off work, I decided to do it even though I was still supposed to do the JM workout.  I went and, in 1 hour, burned 671 calories.  Like I said, zumba ROCKS!  When I got home, I went right into my JM workout.  I wasn’t dreading it as much as I did on Day 3, but I still didn’t enjoy my workout.  I got it done though and moved on with my life.  Another day complete.

Day 5:  Well, day 5 has arrived.  Carolyn and I have talked about the past week of working out and decided some things. First, let me tell you what I think of the JM workout.  As you may have guessed from the past week, I have not been a fan.  It’s boring, tedious, and repetitive.  If I’m not enjoying myself at least a little bit, I will dread doing the workout.  That’s all I have felt for this video is dread.  In addition, I’m not feeling very much from this workout.  Maybe I’m not doing it right, maybe my body adapted faster than I thought it would, maybe it really is not effective for me.  I have no idea.  The first day I did this I was slightly sore.  The days following…not so much.

I typically burn about 200 calories in the 25 minute workout.  That’s OK, but it’s not great.  If that’s the amount of calories I lose, I’d rather be doing something I enjoy like walking/running outside, enjoying the cool breeze and warm sunshine.  True, I don’t get the added benefit of the weights and abs with the walking, but I can add that in after.  Also, as I mentioned above, Zumba kicks my ass and makes me feel incredible after, so I would 100% all the time choose Zumba over JM.  Every. Single. Time.

With all that being said, Carolyn and I decided to go back to the things we love:  zumba and running.  OK, neither one of us LOVE running, but we don’t dread it either.  We have decided to alter our workouts to include the Couch to 5k program along with at least one other day of exercise.  Most of the C25k days are roughly 30 minutes, which fits in perfectly with our schedules.  We decided to add in an additional day of exercise just for fun.  I love my zumba classes (Tuesdays and Thursdays at my gym) so I may in fact be adding two extra days of workouts.

I believe the body needs rest days and variety.   With the JM video, you don’t get that.  I think my body and mind will be much better off with this new challenge we have devised.  After all, the most important thing it to get out there and move.  And to make yourself happy.  That’s what I’m focusing on today.

2 thoughts on “JM 30 Day Shred, Day 5

  1. I totally hear you! I started this year being all psyched up by our new xBox Kinect and had all these aspirations about it, but the truth is…I HATE IT! It’s boring, it’s actually hard, and it doesn’t work. So, while it was still cold, I had a love affair with ExerciseTV. Leslie Sansone will kick your butt! But then, it got warmer (well, kind of) and now I go outside and walk 4 days a week. I really want to start weight training, but I am going to have to find a program that works at home. I also need to start going to Zumba. We have free classes at my church!

    • I absolutely love being outside when it’s nice. I can’t wait to start exercising outside. There is a creek about 2 miles from my house I like to walk to. On ambitious days, I’ll walk there and sit and listen to the babbling brook (one of my most favorite sounds in the world).

      Let me know what you think of zumba! Remember…it’s not about being “correct”, it’s about just moving your body and having fun. 🙂 Zumba has no rules!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

