Break FAST

While I was visiting my dad’s side of the family for Christmas this year, my cousin Melissa told me about a dish she eats quite often for breakfast.  Quick, easy, FAST.  Sounded like the perfect breakfast for me as I’m always running a cool 5 minutes behind in the morning.

She told me about egg cups, which are pretty much exactly what they sound like:  cups filled with frozen eggs, cheese, and other various fixins.

It took me a long time to try them, but today was the day!  I am off work today and tomorrow so utilizing my time is a must!

I opted to use onions, turkey bacon, and asiago cheese today, but the varieties are endless!  Turkey sausage, cheddar cheese, sundried tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, spinach, ham, red pepper…just to name a few. Anything you’d have in an omelet is perfect here!

They are so simple.  You just mix, pour, bake, cool, and freeze!  Yes, please!

Egg Cups
(adapted from onceamonthmom.com)

4 whole eggs
4 egg whites
1 tbsp milk
1 onion, diced
1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp garlic gold nuggets in oil
5 slices turkey bacon, crisped
1/2 cup asiago cheese, shredded
3 slices whole wheat bread, quartered
salt, pepper, other herbs and spices to taste

Begin by preheating your oven to 450°.
In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Saute your onions until soft and slightly browned.  I added a bit of garlic gold nuggets here just because I can.  I’m a garlic lover after all.  Once browned, remove from pan and cook the turkey bacon in the same pan until crisp.  Remove and drain on paper towels.  Once drained, chop up relatively small. In a medium bowl, wisk together the eggs, egg whites, and milk until well incorporated.  Add the onions, turkey bacon, and asiago cheese and wisk together.  At this point, you can add any spices you like.  I used salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.  We like things spicy around these here parts.  Once everything is good and mixed up, pour evenly into silicone lined (or cooking sprayed) muffin tins.  Bake at 450 for 12 minutes or until eggs are set.

You can either eat them right away or freeze for grab and go breakfasts.  Once A Month Mom suggests defrosting the cups overnight in the fridge and then reheating on 50% power for 90 seconds.  I have a feeling you could defrost them in the microwave on 30% power for a few minutes and then heat through after slightly defrosted.  I’ll have to play around with it and let you know.

Bonus Round!  I have found many people don’t really know how to cut an onion quickly and efficiently.  Today, because I love you, I have explained the process.  Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Break FAST

  1. Pingback: Breakfast | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

