Salad Zinger

Lately, I have found myself eating a lot of salads. One of my favorite salads to eat is romaine topped with cranberries, pistachios, and grilled chicken. I typically use a light ranch or something like that, but I’m trying to eat less creamy dressings and instead reaching for more vinegar based dressings.

Yesterday, I used Ken’s Steak House Raspberry Walnut Vinaigrette. It was good, but a bit too sweet for my liking. Then I realized what was missing…cheese! Bleu cheese to be exact. I don’t love bleu cheese, so I don’t keep it in the house that often, but it would have been a yummy addition.

Instead, I decided Parmesan cheese would have worked great too.  That reminded me of something the food network talent is always making…Parmesan crisps!  They are a great addition to most anything from salads to mashed potatoes to steak!  Very versatile, they could even be a “cracker” of sorts.

First, you preheat your oven.  Then, if you haven’t already, chunk up a block of Parmesan and grind it with the regular blade in your food processor until small, fluffy pieces.  If you don’t have a food processor, you can always use a hand or box grater…it will just take you a little longer.

Next, on a silpat (or cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray), spread the Parmesan in 1 tbsp mounds around the pan.  Try to flatten out the mounds a bit so they can get gold and bubbly.

Top with whatever you like.  I did black pepper, Garlic Gold nuggets, and smoked paprika on mine.

Bake until nice and golden.

Play with kitties in the morning sun.

Remove from the oven and let cool, then serve or store in between paper towels in a zip top bag.  I’m not sure how long they are good for as I tend to gobble them up quite fast.  I’m guessing they would be OK for a day or two, but much longer would be pushing it.

Parmesan Crisps
6 tbsp Parmesan Cheese, grated
Black Pepper
Garlic Gold nuggets
Smoked Paprika

Preheat oven to 400º.  Spread tablespoons of Parmesan in even layers around on a silpat lined or cooking spray prepped cookie sheet.  Bake until golden brown (about 5 minutes).  Keep your eye on the cheese so you don’t burn it.  Remove from the oven when baked and let cool.  Crumble over salads, mashed potatoes, or anything else that could use a little zing!

What are your favorite salad fixins?

3 thoughts on “Salad Zinger

  1. Pingback: Soups, Salsas, Salads, and Dressings | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

