Restaurant Review: ‘Boro Bistro

I know what you’re thinking…two restaurant reviews in a week?  What are you smoking, Bethany?  What can I say?  The public has spoken.  You guys like restaurant reviews!

Today, I met Jeff again for lunch.  I love that he works so close now.  His work is a short five minute drive from the house, so when I have days off we often meet up for his lunch hour.

This time, I thought we’d try ‘Boro Bistro.  I had been there before, but Jeff hadn’t.  After Terri mentioned they also use natural ingredients, I was excited to try them out!  She also suggested I try the pesto pizza so, naturally, that’s what I ordered.

After perusing the relatively extensive menu, Jeff decided to try the Thai Chicken burrito.  We placed our order then sat down to wait for our food.

While we waited, I snapped some quick pictures of the place.  I love all the interesting artwork on the walls and the cozy seats.

We also took a few candids of ourselves.  You guys never get to see my cute husband!

After a couple minutes, our food arrived.  The Thai Chicken burrito was interesting but pretty tasty.  There was a smidge too much peanut sauce in it, but I thought it was yummy in spite of that.

The Pesto Pizza, however, was delicious!  Not to mention the fabulous white sauce on those tortilla chips.  I have no idea what it is, but I LOVE it!

It’s so great when you have a husband that’s willing to split his lunch with you!  That way you can try two dishes at the same time!

Now, a little about the restaurant.  As I mentioned above, the produce is local when possible and, according to the website, the entrees are baked, not fried.  The portions are also very proportional, unlike most restaurants out there who give you WAY too much food.  This provided a slight problem for Jeff (since he’s a growing boy, you know), but I gave him a little bit extra from my plate and he was OK.

The restaurant is located at 722 N. Main Street in Springboro.  In layman’s terms, it’s in the same shopping plaza as the Springboro Dorothy Lane Market (which you can read about here).  It’s a great place to go for a quick lunch with a girlfriend!  They are open Monday through Saturday from 11a – 8p.  One other little tidbit…they serve alcohol!  A glass of wine or a beer on their patio (coming April 25th) would be a great way to unwind after work!

Do you have a blog and live in Dayton?  I wanna hear about it!  Just based on my last post I have two new blogger friends (hi, Terri and Karlee!) I’m excited to read about!  I’d also love to hear where my Daytonian readers like to eat.  Comment below!

Finally, here’s a little treat from today’s luncheon:

Boro Bistro on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: ‘Boro Bistro

  1. Aw, so glad you liked the pesto pizza! I think it is DIVINE! And BTW, they sell the white sauce. They won’t give away the ‘secret sauce recipe’, but they promise it is low fat.
    I am actually heading out to Dorothy Lane today. Although they tend to be pricey, they are totally fantastic. They send great coupons through their rewards program, so I always use those. This time it is 2 dozen eggs for $.01 each! You can’t beat that!
    Oh (sorry for the long post), they have a new program going this year regarding local produce. I am going to join. You can find it here: https://secure.dorothylane.com/departments/produce/localfoodclub.html

    • I never get their coupons! Maybe my address is wrong in their computer, because I shop there quite often. I live just down the road! I’ll definitely look into that produce thing. My husband isn’t big on veggies, but I’m always on the hunt for a great produce recipe! Thanks for the tip!

  2. thank for the shout out!! i’ve never been to or heard of boro bistro, i will have to check it out! it’s pretty close. and i love local food, and wine! i also looove dorothy lane market, but try not to go too much because i always spend way too much money.

    • No problem! Yeah, when I go to DLM I try to have a few things in mind and stick to my list. Otherwise I can spend $100 in NO TIME!

  3. thanks for reviewing the ‘Boro Bistro! it’s one of our favorite places to eat!
    they have healthy & flavorful choices! love your ph0tos of the place too!

  4. I love Boro Bistro… and there is another version of this restaurant in Centerville called Flavors Eatery, right across from the High School. They have some different menu items, but it is the same exact concept. Have you tried Amelia’s Bistro in Bellbrook? They have delicious food, locally owned and they have a great patio…

    • I have heard of Flavors, but not Amelia’s. I haven’t been to either, but now I will have to try them! If you think of any others, please let me know! I’m always on the lookout for a great local restaurant!

Leave a Reply

