Balsamic Oven Potatoes

I don’t know about you, but I’m always looking for a new way to make potatoes (both white and sweet).  I, like most red blooded Americans, love potatoes in nearly every form.

Except mashed.  (I’ll wait for you to pick your jaws up off the floor.)  I like mashed potatoes, but I’d rather have something with a little crunch.  I know.  I’m weird.  Moving on…

Any time I find a recipe that looks interesting, I clip it, bookmark it, email it, etc.  Remember the sweet potato recipe from Thanksgiving?  (BTW, yum!) It was clipped from Real Simple.

One of the recipes I saw recently involved balsamic vinegar, which I also happen to love.  When Jeff and I decided to make steaks the other night, I thought it was a great opportunity to whip up these bad boys.

Balsamic Oven Potatoes
(adapted from allrecipes.com)

2 tbsp olive oil
2 pounds red potatoes, quartered
1 small onion, diced
6 garlic cloves, grated
1 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp dried rosemary
1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°.  Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium high heat.  Saute your potatoes and onions in the oil.

Add in your garlic.  I like to grate my garlic with a small toothed microplane because it distributes the garlic more evenly.

Add your rosemary, thyme, and nutmeg.  Toss to coat.  Cook for 4-5 minutes or until potatoes are heated through.

Transfer pan to oven only if your pan is oven safe! If it’s not, transfer vegetables to a 9×13″ baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.  Your pan should say on the bottom, but if you’re not sure, better to be safe than sorry.  Go with the baking dish.

Cook at 400° for 25-30 minutes or until the potatoes are almost tender.  Add the vinegar, salt, and pepper and toss to coat.  Continue cooking in the oven for 5-8 minutes or until the potatoes are completely tender.  Serve warm…

with bacon wrapped, Gorgonzola topped filets and rolls.

And wine.

*The balsamic vinegar gets sweeter the longer it cooks.  My potatoes were a little too sweet, so next time I’d add just a pinch more salt to even things out.  Be sure to taste them before serving to get the flavor just right.

What is your favorite way to make or eat potatoes?

5 thoughts on “Balsamic Oven Potatoes

  1. My favorite way to eat potatoes is mashed…the opposite of yours. That’s okay, we have enough in common ;). I would make these potatoes, but given my recent luck, I would burn them.

  2. Pingback: Side Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

