Roasted Sweet Potatoes

One of my favorite vegetables is the sweet potato.  What other vegetable tastes like dessert when you eat it?  I am always looking for new ways to cook it, but honestly I think roasting is the most delicious and flavorful.  While looking through Real Simple the other day, I pulled out an article about said vegetable.  Included in the article were five quick and easy recipes highlighting sweet potatoes.  I had a few in my pantry, so I thought I’d whip one of the recipes up to bring to my in-laws house for Thanksgiving dinner.  Try these potatoes.  I promise you won’t regret it!

Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Rosemary and Brown Sugar
(from Real Simple September 2010)

*The article did not have amounts of the ingredients, so I’m estimating here.  Just go with your instincts!

3 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp rosemary (I used dried, but fresh would be great)
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400°.  On a sheet pan, combine all the ingredients and toss together.  Spread the potatoes out in one even layer.  Bake for 40-50 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

The combination of brown sugar and rosemary was divine.  The potatoes were sweet and a little spicy.  An added bonus?  The rosemary smelled like Christmas which enhanced the atmosphere in my house while I was putting up the Christmas tree. (It’s a work in progress.)

Are any of you crazy enough to brave the crowds today?  I am, but only against my will.  I will be at work from 6a until who knows when.  Happy shopping!

8 thoughts on “Roasted Sweet Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Balsamic Oven Potatoes | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. I have a few sweet potatoes. I think I’ll make these! P.S…A recipe with no measurements?? ummk….that just sounds funny to me 🙂 The tree is looking pretty!

  3. Pingback: Side Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

