“Pretend Like It’s The Weekend…”

Anyone who knows anything about me knows I have a slight obsession with Jack Johnson.  And Hawaii.  One of my favorite songs by Jack is “Banana Pancakes” so you can imagine what song was in my head all morning while I made breakfast…


I don’t remember having a specific Thanksgiving breakfast year after year.  (Christmas is another story, however.)  I am an extremely traditional person, watching the same movies, listening to the same songs, making the same Christmas Butter Cookies and Sausage Balls every single year, so I would like to think if I grew up having a traditional Thanksgiving breakfast, I would remember.  Mom, you can correct me here if I’m wrong.

This morning I noticed a couple bananas that were extra ripe and I thought about making them into banana bread.  Then I realized we hadn’t eaten breakfast, so while Jeff did the husbandly chore of bringing up all the Christmas decorations from the basement,

I was hard at work making banana pancakes.  Though I think my dear husband would have been fine eating handfuls and handfuls of these:

Banana Pancakes
(adapted from this recipe at allrecipes.com)

1 cup all purpose flour
2 tbsp sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 egg, beaten
1 cup milk
2 tbsp melted butter
2 ripe bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, mix together the egg, milk, butter, bananas, and vanilla.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until just combined.

Do not over mix as it will result in hard pancakes.  You will still have lumps.  See?

Heat a frying pan on medium heat.  Lightly coat the pan with cooking spray or a little butter on a paper towel. (Yes, this is a nonstick pan.  I don’t care.  I take extra precautions.)

Using a 1/3 cup measure, spread the batter around in a small circle.  Here’s a tip for knowing when to flip your pancakes.  You want your cakes to have small holes in the top and the sides to start looking a bit cooked.

I usually take a spatula and gently lift one side to see if the cakes are the color I’m looking for. You want a nice golden color.

Remove your pancakes and serve with warm syrup.

Yep…that’s my mini Christmas tree.  First decoration of the season!

According to the Food Science god (Alton Brown), if you want to keep your pancakes warm and serve a whole batch at once, there are two ways you can do this.  First, warm a heating pad and cover with a kitchen towel.  Place your pancakes on the towel and cover with a second kitchen towel.  This should keep your pancakes warm but not dry them out.  The other way is to do the same thing, but in your oven at the lowest temperature.  If I remember correctly, he says the oven gets the cakes a tad too hot, so he prefers the heating pad, but either will do.

Have a bunch of leftovers?  Fantastic!  You can either store them in a zip top bag in your refrigerator to have in the next couple days.  Just remove and toast in the toaster to get a wonderfully crispy texture.  If you are like me and only want pancakes on extra special days (too much sweet in the morning makes my belly hurt), then pop that bag in the freezer.  When you want the pancakes, just defrost them a bit in the microwave and then toast up in the toaster.  Yum!

I only wish I’d had some sausage this morning…

3 thoughts on ““Pretend Like It’s The Weekend…”

  1. Mmmmm, I love me some pancakes….and some Jack Johnson. I ALMOST made these this weekend but I knew I would eat the entire batch (frozen or not) so I settled on banana oatmeal.

    Oh, and add some granola and I’ll bet they would be similar to my favorites at First Watch!

  2. Pingback: Breakfast | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

