Puppy Chow

The other day I was at the grocery store trying to figure out what exactly I’d like to eat for breakfast.  My standard fare of oatmeal (overnight or otherwise) just wasn’t cutting it anymore.  I’m not sure if I got tired of oats or if pregnancy has something to do with it, but the thought of eating oatmeal makes me kind of sicky feeling.

So there I was, standing in the cereal aisle at Kroger, trying to pick out a cereal that sounded good and wasn’t horrible for me.  My eyes landed on Honey Nut Chex.  OK, so it’s not the best cereal out there, but it’s certainly not the worst!  I grabbed a box and continued on my way.

As I was finishing my grocery shopping, I started to think how great the honey nut Chex would be in puppy chow!  Here’s something you may not know about me:  one of my absolute favorite combinations on earth is chocolate and peanut butter.  I would bath in peanut butter and chocolate if I could.  OK, maybe not, but I could probably make myself sick by eating so much of it.

Puppy chow, for those of you who are unfamiliar, is cereal that is coated with a peanut butter/chocolate mixture and topped with powdered sugar.  Sounds fabulous, I know.  Here’s the recipe I used:

Puppy Chow
(adapted from allrecipes.com)

9 cups Chex cereal
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 regular sized Hershey bars
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

In a double boiler (a pan of water set to simmer with a glass bowl perched over it), melt your chocolate.  Make sure the water isn’t touching the bottom of the bowl.

Once your chocolate is melted, add in your peanut butter and stir to combine.

In a big bowl, combine the melted chocolate and peanut butter with the cereal.  Try to coat each piece.

Move the cereal to a zip top bag and dump on the powdered sugar.

Shake to coat.

I like to spread mine out on a cookie sheet just to knock off some of the excess sugar, but today I decided it would be fun to dump part of my treat on myself.

And the floor.

It still turned out fabulous although I would double the peanut butter next time.

Fun little tip:  if your niece comes over, who is already hyper mind you, this treat may not be the best snack to offer her.  She may start bouncing off the walls uncontrollably!  But then she leaves.  Hee hee hee.

Do you have any favorite childhood treats you still love as an adult?

4 thoughts on “Puppy Chow

  1. Jan and I both love Puppy Chow, but we call it Muddy Buddies – sounds less like dog food :). Jan has also found it in bags like Chex Mix and brought it in to work so we can eat the entire thing in one sitting. I still like most of my childhood treats…some things never change. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Desserts | One Girl's Taste On Life

  3. Pingback: Raising Money for Relay for Life | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

