Slow Cooker French Dip (with Au Jus)

(Leaves being blown off the trees the other night)

Wouldn’t you love to come home to the warm, welcoming smells of dinner, piping hot and ready for you?  I know I do.  I work full time in a retail environment.  This means I am not always home for dinner, leaving my wonderful, yet kitchen challenged husband to fend for himself more often than I would like.  I try to help him out by making casseroles or crock pot meals ahead of time so it seems like I’m home even when I’m not.

I was bumming around on the web the other day and stumbled across this recipe on Tasty Kitchen.  It sounded delightful, so I gave it a go.

Jeff said it was really good!  He loved that I provided some yummy sub rolls and provolone cheese to go with it.  I had intended to have some caramelized onions on the side as well, but I got a little distracted with my computer and they went from golden brown to black in record time.

This recipe was so quick and easy to throw together!  It will definitely be going in my “must make again” pile!

Slow Cooker French Dip (with Au Jus)
(From Tasty Kitchen)

3.5 pounds Beef Chuck Roast
1 can Beef Consumme
1 bottle Beer
2 cubes Beef Bullion
1 package Onion Soup Mix

Sprinkle your beef roast with whatever seasonings you want.  Megan (the recipe’s author) suggested salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.  That sounded good to me!

Place your roast in the crock pot. Combine the consumme and the soup mix.  Pour over the roast.

Add your beer.  The flavor gets concentrated, so pick one you like.  Megan says the darker and richer the beer, the better flavor the au jus has, which I can understand.  I went with Sam Adams’ Octoberfest.

Don’t you love when it bubbles and froths like that?

Finally add in your bullion cubes.  Cook on low for 7-8 hours. Remove meat and shred with a fork.

Serve with a toasted roll and provolone cheese.

*If I could make one change to this recipe, I would add a tablespoon or two of brown sugar to the mix.  I felt like it needed just a hint of sweetness the mixture didn’t provide.

*Also, after reading the reviews just now, one lady mentioned adding some horseradish mayo to the sub.  Holy goodness, that sounds yummy!  You might want to try that if you have some on hand.  I bet it would be a welcome addition!

Now I’m gonna go make some Puppy Chow.  If you haven’t had it, you must make it.  Do yourself a favor and make sure you have peanut butter, chocolate (chips or bars), powdered sugar, and chex cereal on hand.  Recipe to follow!

And you may be wondering how the patio is coming.  Jeff and I decided to wait and reveal the patio when it is completed.  We are probably about two or three days away from that, though.  Here’s a little tidbit to tide you over…

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker French Dip (with Au Jus)

  1. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

