Sister Bean’s Coffee House & The Fresh Market (Louisville)

Continuing on our Louisville journey (a week later) brings us to a place that only exists for me in my dreams…Sister Bean’s Coffee House. Well, OK, not really just in my dreams, but not in reality until I make the pilgrimage back to Louisville.

As you probably know, I love coffee.  I have a mega slight addiction to Starbucks and usually cannot function in the morning until after at least one cup of coffee.  (Slight side note:  picked up Whole Foods’ City Roast coffee while in Louisville and am now addicted.  What gives?)  When Carolyn mentioned there was a place in Louisville that made Starbucks look like “a short, fat, bald man” (Friends anyone?), I was all in.

The drive to the coffee house took us past Iroquois Park, one of Carolyn’s favorite places to run in Louisville.  In fact, the location of said coffee house was right across the street from the park!  We both decided that would be great motivation for her to go running there on days she had time.  You know…run a bit, get a coffee!  Sounds like a winner to me!

Carolyn mentioned the frappuccinos were amazing and, since it was 90+ degrees outside, I decided a frosty, cold beverage was the way to go.  They had tons of options from which to choose.

I went with the Coconut Mocha Frappuccino.

Oh. My. Amazing.

Indeed as I was slurping this bad boy down, I was picturing short, fat, bald men running around the store holding Starbucks coffees while sneering. (The little men do not like being replaced.)  Starbucks doesn’t hold a candle to Sister Bean.  The smoothness of my beverage was remarkable.  Starbucks’ frappuccinos have bits of ice in them, almost as if they didn’t spend enough time on the blender.  Sister Bean’s frappuccino tasted like a milkshake.

The shop was so cute, with lots of great artwork hanging around.

They also had an extensive amount of baked goods (some vegan!) and ice cream!  What more could you ask for?

Comfy chairs?  Check!
Fireplace?  Check!

I could sit here and read my book for hours.  It’s definitely going on my list of Must Visit places when I go to Louisville.  At this rate, I’ll have to start going for three or four days at a time just to fit all the places in!

Another place I fell in love with was The Fresh Market.

After seeing Carolyn’s post, I knew I had to go.  This is a foodie’s paradise.  Well, sort of.  If you want to talk about places a foodie could live in for years at a time, you need to mention Jungle Jim’s.  Carolyn and I ventured there a few months ago and it was so huge I felt overwhelmed.  I will definitely have to do a review on this place!

Anyhow…Fresh Market.  It’s similar to Whole Foods, but it just feels different.  It feels more cozy, like you’re in someone’s home.  Don’t ask me why I felt like that…I just did.

The minute we walked in the store, the smell of these cinnamon scented pine cones smacked us in the face.

I loved the lighting combined with all the wood in this store.  Like I said…cozy.

And orchids are my favorite flower, so seeing them upon entrance was a nice little touch.

Then I saw it.  Barrels and barrels of coffee beans!  I stood in the same spot for several minutes inhaling the sweet, wonderful fragrance.  (Man, if this store doesn’t play on your senses!)

In addition to the bulk bins of coffee, they had bulk spices,

bulk seeds, grains, granolas,

and bulk dried veggies.

I loved all the different pastas too.

Finally, they had a wonderful cheese display.  Don’t you just love the little faux shop canopy above?

What a great day.  Two new discoveries!  And bonus…Fresh Market is a chain and there are two in Cincinnati!  Score!

What’s your favorite local or chain grocery store?

11 thoughts on “Sister Bean’s Coffee House & The Fresh Market (Louisville)

    • Do you live near Shaker Heights? My grandparents lived there when I was growing up. Aww…nostalgia!

      I don’t think The Fresh Market has a parent company. A quick Wikipedia search says they were founded by a couple in North Carolina who wanted to bring back the old European feel of grocery stores. It is truly wonderful. I think you should go, like, tomorrow. If you like Whole Foods, you’ll love Fresh Market.

      Carolyn and I tend to go to grocery stores for fun and we could have definitely spent a LONG time in this one. In fact, I’m thinking of going to Cincinnati this week to go to Fresh Market, Whole Foods, and Jungle Jims (maybe do my review then).

      Let me know what you think when you get a chance to visit!

    • I love Trader Joes too! We have one in Dayton and I’m very thankful. Any time I want to go to Whole Foods or now Fresh Market, I have to drive to Cincinnati, which is easy, but kind of a pain at the same time.

  1. Pingback: Whole Foods & Etiquette Dinner (Louisville) | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. We traveled to Cincinnati this past weekend and went to Jungle Jims….OMG !!!! We spent hours in there, got lost several times and was just amazed at the selections. They were having a HUGE sale on wine….wished I had bought more at the prices they had. Afterwards my husbands comment was ” that was a bit overwhelming”……LOL LOL

    • Diane, I know! It IS overwhelming! I didn’t feel good when I went, so we sort of had to rush through. My plan is to TAKE MY TIME when I go next time. I’m also going to make a list of items to look for and take pictures of items I see that look interesting but require future investigation. I’ll let you know what I find!

  3. Pingback: Fresh Market Fail | Healthy Heddleston

  4. Pingback: 26 Coffee Things You Must Do Before You Die - Sprudge.com

  5. Pingback: 26 Coffee Things You Must Do Before You Die | Kafes.gr

Leave a Reply

