Red Raspberry Vinaigrette & Walnut Oil Bruschetta

A while back, I made a recipe for Citrus Green Beans I found on the Whole Foods website.  I didn’t include the recipe in my post, but you can view them as well as the Pizza Casserole recipe I accompanied them with here.

One of the ingredients in the post was Walnut Oil.

When I brought the oil home from the grocery store, my husband asked me what ever would I use it for.  Turns out, lots of things!  Here, in addition to the citrus green bean recipe above, are two recipes using Walnut Oil:

Red Raspberry Vinaigrette
(adapted from the “Harvest Salad” recipe found at allrecipes.com)

2 tbsp red raspberry jam
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1/4 cup walnut oil*
salt & pepper to taste

Combine the jam and the vinegar in a bowl and wisk to combine.  Slowly drizzle in the oil so it can emulsify.  Add salt and pepper to your liking.  I used this dressing to top a salad made of baby spinach, craisins, walnuts, and bleu cheese (as the Harvest Salad recipe states).  It was pretty great!

*I found the original call for 1/3 cup oil to be a bit too much, so I cut the oil back to 1/4 cup.

Walnut Oil Bruschetta
(from the La Tourangelle website)

1/2 pound prosciutto, thinly sliced
1/2 pound brie, cut in thin wedges
2 pears, cut in slices
3 tbsp walnut oil
1 baguette

Cut the baguette on the bias (meaning diagonally) into 1/4″ thin, cracker like pieces.  Top with prosciutto, pear, and brie.  Toast in a broiler or in a toaster oven until the cheese has melted and is starting to brown.  Drizzle with the walnut oil.  Serve warm.

This would be a fantastic appetizer to serve at a cocktail party.  It is quick, easy, and you can prep the ingredients ahead of time.  I think it would make even Rhodey Girl‘s list of winners!

8 thoughts on “Red Raspberry Vinaigrette & Walnut Oil Bruschetta

    • It IS! My pears were a little on the under ripe side, but other than that it was Ah-mazing! So good, in fact, that I had them for breakfast (to test the recipe) and then later that night for a snack after work!

    • Yes I think it would be ok, though you wouldn’t get as salty a bite. I was thinking it would be good as a sweet treat too, omitting the walnut oil and replacing it with honey.

      Sent from my iPhone

  1. Pingback: Party Foods | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: Soups, Salsas, Salads, and Dressings | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

