Restaurant Review: Sammy’s El Pueblo

Normally I like to eat at a restaurant a few times before determining whether I’ll like the place or not.  Tonight was not one of those nights.

Jeff and his mom tried a new restaurant that opened near us called Sammy’s El Pueblo.  Jeff kept going on and on about their food, so tonight when dinnertime rolled around, I suggested we go back so I could sample the grub.  These guys greeted us when we arrived.

With a name involving “El Pueblo”, you’d think the restaurant would be Mexican.  You’d be sort of right.

They have Mexican food, but they also have gourmet burgers!  Yum!  As I’ve said before, I consider myself a burger connoisseur, so when Jeff said the burger was among the best he’d ever had, there was no question what I was going to get.

They had an extensive menu.  The burgers alone took up one page!

I opted for the Bourbon Burger, which had lettuce, tomato, onion straws, swiss cheese, mayo, and bourbon sauce on it.  As I’m not a big fan of mayo, I requested it not be on the sandwich.  Jeff got the Boneless Buffalo Wings with ranch.

While we were waiting for our meals, they brought us a basket of chips with some salsa.  Remember how I said I would take a bath in the salsa at Cazadores?  Well, I’d swim in Sammy’s salsa.  It was perfect!  Not too spicy, not too much cilantro, salty with a hint of sweetness.  And the chips!  I must say they were even better than Cazadores’ chips.  They were just a bit thinner, which produced a crunchier crunch.  Nom nom nom.

The burger was Ah-mazing!  The bourbon sauce and the onion straws were sweet and the beef was nice and juicy.  The flavors melded together perfectly!  The fries that accompanied the burger were so interesting!  They tasted (and kinda looked) like a cross between a fry and a churro.  Jeff even commented they had a hint of cinnamon in them!  I believe they were fabulousness on a plate.

Jeff’s Buffalo Wings were great too!  Again, they weren’t too spicy and they were perfectly cooked and sauced.  I hate when you order wings and it seems like there is more sauce on the plate than chicken!

Being as this restaurant is about three minutes from our house (and across the street from the best ice cream shoppe ever Graeter’s Ice Cream), I predict we will be going here a lot!

UPDATE (9/10/10)

After I posted this early review of Sammy’s, I had a few people ask me about the Mexican food there.  Seeing as Jeff and I both only ordered American food, I didn’t really have much to go on.  That’s changed!

We went to Sammy’s on Friday night with Jeff’s brother (Paul), his brother’s wife (Shannon), and his brother’s stepdad (Kenny).  Kenny treated us to a couple rounds of frozen margaritas, which were DELISH, as well as a great meal.  Thanks, Kenny!

I, being the typical burger connoisseur, could not seem to want Mexican when there were hundreds upon thousands of burgers to choose from.  OK, so maybe there were only twenty, but still!  I ordered the Mushroom burger and it was even better than the Bourbon burger if you can believe it!

Shannon went with the Salmon burger and she said it was fabulous.  If I was a fan of salmon, I might have ordered it, but I like my beef.  Kenny ordered the Hawaiian burger and he said it was spot on.

Paul and Jeff opted for Mexican.  Paul ordered the Barbicoa soft tacos, which Jeff munched on the Chiptole burrito.  Both said the food was great and very flavorful.

I’m thinking I need to try the Mexican fare for myself, but I just can’t get past the first page of the menu!  In time, my friends, in time.

El Pueblos and Sammies Gourmet Burgers on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Sammy’s El Pueblo

  1. Pingback: I’m Stuck in a Food Rut | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. I also live in Springboro behind Dorothy Lane Market (Settler’s Walk) and eat here all the time. I can say that their Mexican food is as good as their Burgers. I get the grilled steak or grilled chicken quesadilla (depending on my mood) and both are fabulous!

    • I’m the same way about checking reviews. I almost always look at the menu of a place I’m going to try just to see what kind of food they serve and to make sure they have an option for my (sometimes picky) husband.

      I’m using a Canon Powershot SD1400 for my pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

