Pizza Casserole

I am a huge fan of casseroles.  I work some crazy hours, so being able to make meals ahead of time and leave instructions with Jeff on how to cook them is a big time saver.  (Speaking of, I’m also a huge fan of the slow cooker!)

We both love pizza, so when I saw this recipe on allrecipes.com the other day, I immediately got excited.  The great thing about this recipe is that you can customize it based on your family’s likes and dislikes.

Ingredients for a Yum-tastic meal:

1/2 onion, chopped
1/2 pepper, chopped2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 pound ground turkey
2 cups whole wheat egg noodles
1/2 package turkey pepperoni, quartered (about 4.5 ounces)
1 can pizza sauce (about 14 ounces)
1 cup part skim mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup milk

The first thing I did was sautee some chopped onions, peppers, and garlic with a little bit of salt and pepper.  After that cooked down, I added half a pound of ground turkey to the pan and cooked it until the meat was done, breaking up the chunks as I went along.

While the meat mixture was cooking, I boiled 2 cups of whole wheat egg noodles for about 10 minutes and also preheated the oven to 375*.

I drained the egg noodles and added them to the meat mixture.

Then I chopped up 1/2 a package of turkey pepperoni and added it into the mix.

Next, I added a jar of pizza sauce, 3/4 cup of part skim mozzarella cheese, and 1/4 cup of milk.  (By this time, the ingredients were trying to jump out of the pan, so I dumped everything into the pot I used to cook the egg noodles.)

After giving the ingredients a good mix to incorporate everything, I dumped the contents into a 2 qt glass baking dish I sprayed with a touch of Pam.

Then I sprinkled 1/4 cup of mozzarella cheese on top, covered the dish with aluminum foil, and popped it in the oven to bake for 30 minutes.

The casserole came out nice and gooey, but not too cheesy (I hate that).  I served the dish with a Citrus Green Bean recipe I got off the Whole Foods website, though I wasn’t a huge fan, so I’m not going to share (though I think the beans were just undercooked).  If I remake the recipe in the future with some changes, I may post it.

Regardless, Jeff and I both liked the recipe and we WILL make it again!

Stay tuned for my adventures in Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie baking…

3 thoughts on “Pizza Casserole

  1. Pingback: Red Raspberry Vinaigrette & Walnut Oil Bruschetta | One Girl's Taste On Life

  2. Pingback: Main Dishes | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

