Can’t You Hear the Steel Drums Jerk Chicken

Jerk chicken.  I don’t know about you but those words make my mouth fill with saliva.  I’m a tropical girl (at heart) and anything having to do with Hawaii, sand, palm trees, or the ocean makes me happy.  I know, I know…jerk chicken is Jamaican, but it’s tropical nonetheless.


The best thing about this recipe is you make the entire thing in the food processor, pour it over the chicken, and then let it hang out in the fridge until you’re ready to grill it.  Unfortunately, I made this extremely fast before work yesterday, so I forgot to snap pictures until the end.  Eh, oh well.

Can’t You Hear The Steel Drums Jerk Chicken
one bunch green onions
1 onion
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded
3/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1/4 cup canola oil
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tbsp dried thyme (or 1 tbsp fresh if you have it)
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground allspice
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, butterflied*

First thing’s first.  You will want all your ingredients to wind up in a food processor.  I’m sure you could use a blender as well, if you don’t possess a food processor.

Before adding them to the food processor, cut the roots off the green onions and then cut them into threes or fours (just to make the blending process easier).  Also, cut the onion into quarters.  Then throw everything else (except for the chicken) in and pulse to combine.  You want the marinade to be as uniform as possible.


Place the chicken in a bowl and cover with the marinade.  Toss the chicken around to make sure it is coated on all sides.  Cover and store in the fridge.  As I stated above, I did this before work yesterday and then cooked it that night (about 12 hours later).  Overnight would work marvelously here as well.

Get your grill nice and hot and cook the chicken until no longer pink (about 6 to 8 minutes).  I like to cover my grates with aluminum foil that I’ve poked holes in so the chicken doesn’t stick.


I also made some grilled asparagus to go alongside.
(Aluminum foil + asparagus + olive oil + salt + pepper + garlic powder = happy campers!)


Even Jeff liked the asparagus!  I was quite pleased.

What are some of your favorite ways to prepare chicken?  Do you have a go to recipe?

Leave a Reply

