C25k: W4D1

I woke up this morning to a cooler summer morning. It was overcast and about 70*. It was a perfect day for running. Of course, at 8:30a the last thing I wanted to think about was running. Instead, Jeff and I cleaned the kitchen and then I caught up on some blog reading while drinking a cup of coffee.

Everyone in my blogs was talking about running so, instead of making excuses, I made a plan. Eat the leftover half of my Larabar, fold the clothes in the dryer, and then change into running clothes. All I had to do today was W4D1 (run 3 min, walk 1.5, run 5 min, walk 2.5, repeat once).

I set out to complete today’s program and then something funny happened. I got the desire to “go the distance”! There is a bridge near my house I love to run over. I wanted to at least go that far. It’s about 2 miles away though.

I got to the bridge and thought, heck, I might as well go to the furthest point in the neighborhood. (Anyone hear Forrest Gump speaking right now??)

I ended up completing 5 miles in 75 minutes, running about 1/4 of the time. Not great but not bad either!

Funny little side note: when I was about halfway done with my run, the song “Halfway Gone” by Lifehouse came on. Perfect timing, no?

So….what songs motivate you when you’re exercising?

6 thoughts on “C25k: W4D1

  1. This is an excellent post and may be one that needs to be followed up to see what the results are

    A partner mailed this link the other day and I’m excitedly looking your next put up. Continue on the great work.

Leave a Reply

