C25k: W3D2 & W3D3

W3D2-Monday, August 16th

The second day of week 3 went really well.  It was a little warm outside, so I opted to run on the treadmill at my gym.  I decided I was going to burn extra calories so I could have some leftover birthday cake.  I started my run at a 1% incline and did the entire w3d2 workout at said incline.  Then I went back and did the workout a second time, increasing my incline with each run.  I think I ended up at 5% or something like that.  I did a total of 45 minutes and 3.2 miles.  I probably could have kept going, but I needed to get home to get ready for work.

W3D3-Thursday, August 19th

I did Zumba two days ago, but took yesterday off, so I knew I needed to get a run in today before work.  I changed from my pajamas into my workout clothes and went outside to test the weather.  It felt OK, so I chose to run outside.  I’m not sure it was the best idea I’ve ever had, but that’s beside the point.

I decided three things on my run:  a. running outside is a lot harder than running on the treadmill, b. 80* is too hot for me to run outside, and c. I need to hydrate better before runs.

I knew running outside was more difficult.  That’s why when the weather gets a little cooler, I run outside…so I get a better workout.  It was a little discouraging to go from running on a steep incline last time I ran to barely finishing the workout this time, but I just kept telling myself I was getting a better workout in the long run.

Several factors contributed to my run not being as good as last time.  One of those factors was weather.  80* doesn’t sound that hot, but when you are outside with the sun beating down on you and barely any wind, 80* is hot! I love summer, but I’m getting more and more excited for fall.  I love when it gets somewhat chilly.  It’s the perfect running weather!

Another factor of my less than fabulous run was hydration.  I didn’t drink enough water before I left and I don’t bring my water bottle with me when I run.  I may need to change this.  Usually I’m alright, but the hot sun left me parched today.  In fact, I need to go get a big glass of water right now.

Regardless, I finished my workout and then walked the rest of the way home.  I ended up doing about 3 miles in 50 minutes.  Not horrible.  Hopefully the next run will be better!

Leave a Reply

