C25K: W2D3

I want to be one of those people who says I went for a short 8 mile run today.  Unfortunately, that is not the kind of person I am.  Yet. 

Luckily, there is a program for people like me to figure out how to run.  You’d think it would be easy to run, right?  Not for all of us.

The program is called Couch to 5K.  This nine week program uses different amounts of running and walking to train your body.  As you progress, the amounts of running become longer and the walking becomes shorter.

I started C25k a while back and never completed it.  This time, I thought if I blogged about it, I might hold myself more accountable.  So, please, follow me on my running journey.

Today was Week 2 Day 3 (W2D3).  The other day I was feeling very tired towards the end of my shift at work.  I knew I had to run after, so I decided to drink a 5 Hour Energy.  I don’t like to drink these too often, because I just don’t feel like they can be good for you.  Regardless, I downed one and then 1.5 hours later, I was running at the gym.  I’m not sure if it was the energy drink or what, but, in the words of Forrest Gump, I just felt like running!

My workout that day was great!  I felt fantastic after and proceeded to go home and have a great night with Jeff, eating at the mexican restaurant and sitting outside at the Greene listening to music.

Today, I wanted the same kind of workout.  Hesitant that my great run on Saturday was due mainly to the 5 Hour Energy….I had another.  At least I can say that it worked!  Not only did I complete W2D3, I did it twice!  I ended up running (I use this term loosely) 3.2 miles in about 45 minutes.  Not great, but not bad.  I like running at least 3 miles.  It prepares me for the 5k I might actually do one day.

But that day is not today.  Maybe in nine weeks…

And now, I must rest.  My tootsies hurt.

Leave a Reply

