Corn and Black Bean Quinoa

Even though I didn’t exactly achieve my monthly ingredient goal, I still wanted to try out this quinoa recipe I’d found.  I was a little skeptical as I’m not a huge fan of black beans, but I must say it was quite tasty! 

If you have never cooked with quinoa (which is a high protein grain for those of you not sure), I suggest you try it.  It is very easy to cook (similar to cooking rice) and it extremely versatile!  I plan to test out many, many more dishes in the future.

Corn and Black Bean Quinoa
1 tsp vegetable oil
1 onion chopped
3 garlic cloves, chopped
3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
salt & pepper to taste
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
chopped fresh cilantro, optional

In a saucepan over medium heat, saute onion and garlic until onion is translucent.  Add the quinoa and stir to incorporate.  Add the broth, cumin, and cayenne pepper.  Reduce heat to simmer and cook, covered, for 20 minutes, or until quinoa is tender.  Add corn and black beans and cook for 5 minutes, or until the corn and beans are heated through.  Mix in cilantro, if desired.

This dish can be eaten as a light lunch by itself, or served alongside a main dish for a hearty dinner.  I served mine with Pineapple Teriyaki Chicken. 

Leave a Reply

