Starting Over Yet Again

For a while now, I have been telling myself two things:  get your butt back to the gym (or start running in the hot and humid Ohio weather) and start going to Zumba.

The first thing, for some reason, requires some determination and mind tricking.  I’m not sure why I hate working out going to the gym.  Once I’m actually at the gym, nine times out of ten I get a great workout in and end up feeling amazing after.  A euphoric runner’s high if you will.  But sitting here on my couch typing this blog thinking about going to the gym later this morning does not get me pumped.  No matter how many times I tell myself You will feel AMAZING when you’re done!  Accomplished even! I still have to play little mind games with myself.  Just go for thirty minutes.  Walk if you have to.  Just get there. 

Well, I told myself when I was on vacation a few weeks ago that August 2 would be my Get Your Butt to the Gym and Start Eating Healthy Again day.  It wasn’t.  I uber failed that day.  Not only did I not go to the gym, but I didn’t have any healthy food in the house.  So I ate crap.  And lots of it.  It’s OK I told myself.  Just do better tomorrow!  Yeah…no.  Instead I bought a huge box of cookies at work and ate way too many of them.  I did leave the box in the breakroom for others to share.  Mini success.

Wednesday, it all turned around.  I got up early, ate a healthy breakfast, and then went for a quick little run at the gym.  I am starting the Couch to 5k program again and completed Week 2, Day 1.  After, I had to haul ass to get everything done in time to meet Chrissy and Jeff for lunch.  I ran to Dorothy Lane for a few items I didn’t get at Kroger the night before, came home, showered, dressed, and headed to pick Chrissy up.  I didn’t eat particularly well that night (hello, peanut butter cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory plus two glasses of wine), but I did work out.  Another mini success.

Yesterday was so much better!  I ate really well (tons of fruits and veggies) and went to Zumba!  Phew.  Major success.

Speaking of Zumba, it was my other recent goal I wanted to achieve.  Obviously, I did it.  I’m a huge fan of Zumba.  It’s fun, it burns lots of calories, and it goes by really fast.  Know what I’m not a huge fan of?  Going to classes at my gym by myself.  I’m not really sure why.  I know that if I have never, ever been to a class before, I get very anxious and my stomach starts to hurt.  I’m getting better about it, but it is still an issue sometimes. 

Yesterday, I prepared myself all day.  I kept planning the day out in my head.  OK, I’m going to go home, cook Jeff dinner, change, and go to Zumba at 6:30.  Then I can come home and eat my dinner and maybe have a spot of ice cream before bed.  Telling myself over and over that I was going to do it helped me complete the task.  I don’t know if any of you have to do this, but it works for me.

I also made a friend in class.  Well, sort of.  She was really nice and let me know she goes to all the Zumba classes, so at least now I know I’ll have a familiar face there.  Hopefully that will encourage me to go as often as I can.  I have to skip tomorrow because I have to work.  Boo!  But Tuesday it’s ON!

2 thoughts on “Starting Over Yet Again

  1. I know this is a really old post but I just found your blog searching for blogs on meetup- read that one and then found this. So excited! I have grown kids but can relate to so much of what you wrote just in the 2 posts I read. Liking forward to reading more and seeing if you are still blogging 4 years later!

Leave a Reply

