Sweet Sunday Morning Waffles

I rarely get cravings for sweets in the morning.  Usually the thought of something sweet and bready makes me feel ill.  Except for on the weekend…  I don’t know what it is about Saturdays and Sundays that make me want doughnuts, waffles, and french toast!  I also rarely order waffles in restaurants because they are normally at least $5 and I always want something savory in addition to the sweet.  (They should start putting 1/2 waffles on menus as add ons and charging $2-3 for them!)  So, if I ever want waffles, I have to make them!  Here’s the one I like best:

Sweet Sunday Morning Waffles

2 eggs, beated
2 cups flour
1 3/4 cups milk
1/2 canola oil
2 tbsp granulated sugar*
1 tbsp brown sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together until just combined.  Batter will be a little lumpy.  Let sit for 15 minutes.  Preheat a waffle iron and put about 3/4 cup** of batter in the iron.  Let cook until golden brown and crispy. 

*I like my waffles to be very sweet.  I typically eat them without syrup.  If you prefer your sweetness to come from your syrup, only use 1 tbsp of granulated sugar and omit the brown sugar, though I think the brown sugar gives the waffle an extra yummy flavor.

**I just eyeball the amount of batter I pour into my waffle iron.  I use a one cup measure and fill it about 3/4 of the way up.  Your waffle iron might need less or more depending. 

Leave a Reply

