The Push I Needed (Thanks Heather!)

Don’t you love it when you try to talk yourself out of going to the gym, then decide to go, only to have a fantastic workout?  I love it!  That happened to me today.  Today is Saturday (which doesn’t really mean anything to me since I’m in retail and have to work weekends more often than not).  It’s snowy outside and Jeff is home in our nice, warm house.  For these reasons (as well as being lazy) I did NOT want to go to the gym today, even though I didn’t go yesterday.  I posted a status on facebook saying I was trying to talk myself into going. 

My friend, Heather, told me I should go because I would feel great the rest of the day.  So what did I do?  I put on my gym clothes.  (Does anyone else feel more like going to the gym once you put your gym clothes on?  I don’t know what it is, but if I’m feeling wishy washy about going, I am much more likely to go once I’m dressed.  Weird…)  I’m so happy Heather told me to go.  It was just the push I needed to get my butt to the gym!

So I put on my gym clothes and decided I would go and just do 30 minutes.  It didn’t matter what I did as long as I went for 30 minutes.  I also downed a cup of coffee on the way to the gym.  That usually peps me up as well.  When I got there, I noticed two men running right next to the treadmill I like using.  This solidified my decision to run today.  And boy did I run.

Now, I’m still trying to get back into the swing of things after being “off” for over a month.  I’m trying not to do too much too fast, but today I was just “in the groove”.  I love love love days like this.  I wish every day was like today.  I started running and ran for .75 miles, took a .25 mile break, and then ran an additional .5 mile.  I finished my run with an uphill hike and then ran at an incline the last minute.  Wonderful feeling!!!

After that, I was at around 340 calories, so I decided to start my weight training.  I figured the more muscle I have, the more calories I’ll burn, so I needed to start weights back up.  I did arms today so they would be recovered by Tuesday (truck day at work).  I’m going to do legs on Monday so they won’t be uber sore on Tuesday.  I kinda hate that I have to plan my weight training around my work schedule.  Oh well.  Then after I was done with weights I decided to finish up my workout with a short 5 minute bike ride.  I’m not good at the bike or the elliptical because they both hurt my knees for some reason.  *shrugs*  Who knows why.  Running doesn’t bother my knees.  I think it’s crazy.

Anyhow, I burned over 500 calories, which was my goal, and made me feel very refreshed and happy.  Gotta love those endorphins!  Now I’m finishing the laundry, cleaning the kitchen, and taking a shower before I go into work.  I am really pleased with myself and so happy I have started working out and eating right again.  I can’t wait to show off my new body this summer!  🙂

Leave a Reply

