Hi. My name is Bethany and I love coffee.

When I was growing up, my mama and daddy had coffee every morning.  Some days I would even make it for them.  They taught me how to make it and they “took” it, and I would sometimes make their coffee and take it to them.  I would be so proud.

I never liked coffee growing up though.  I always LOVED the smell, but thought it tasted too bitter.  My roommate in college, Carolyn, and her then boyfriend, Barrett, would drink coffee all the time.  I secretly think Barrett’s veins contained coffee instead of blood.  I always wanted to be one of those people who would “run to Starbucks” and carry those little cups with them everywhere they went.  I still could not get on board with the coffee drinking.

Then, one day before APO (our community service fraternity we belonged to), Carolyn convinced me to try coffee again.  She suggested I get a Caramel Macchiato because most of the time they were sweeter than other drinks.  She also suggested I get it with one less shot of espresso.  Grandes come with two shots, so I would get a Single Grande Caramel Macchiato. 

I told her the drink seemed a little rich, so then she tweaked my drink to be a Single Grande Nonfat Caramel Macchiato.  I drank that same drink for about two years.  It was the best thing in the world and it was super yummy every day during our APO meetings.

Then a few years ago, I decided to branch out.  One day I went up to the Starbucks counter and nervously ordered a Single Grande Nonfat Hazelnut Latte.  I know…big difference, right?  Turns out, it was equally fantastic!

Eventually, I encountered a new problem.  Hot coffee drinks in the middle of summer don’t taste as good as they do in the middle of winter.  Problem was, I didn’t like iced coffee.  Or so I thought…  “Try it again!” Carolyn encouraged one day last summer.  “I bet you’d like the Caramel Macchiato iced.  The caramel gets all cold and you get big bites of it in your straw!”  I tried it and ended up drinking the entire drink in all of about ten minutes.  Yay!  New drink I love!

Today…ladies and gents…I have reached another level of coffee drinking achievement.  I did not “water down” my beverage by getting one less shot of espresso in my coffee.  Let me expain…

I have recently taken to ordering the Skinny Lattes at Starbucks.  I don’t get Starbucks often because I don’t like to “drink” my calories.  Carolyn told me the skinny lattes are suprisingly good, so I tried one the other day.  Basically I got the same drink I always get but with sugar free syrup instead of the sugary syrup.  I still got one less shot of espresso though.  It didn’t taste as good to me as a regular latte, but it was Starbucks and I was treating myself to a caloric beverage.

I decided I didn’t want to keep getting grandes, though, because that is an extra 2 oz of skim milk, therefore an extra 20 calories I didn’t need to have.  (I know what your thinking…it’s an extra 20 calories. Big deal.  But when you only get 1400/day and you’d rather have a chocolate bar and need those 20 calories, it is a big deal.  To me.) 

So today I got a Tall Skinny Vanilla Latte.  No single shot, no other changes, just plain and simple.  And you know what?  It’s FANTASTIC!  It’s my new favorite drink.  And I know you all are laughing at me and telling me what a weird post this is.  But you know what?

I don’t care.  Cause I have a Tall Skinny Vanilla Latte.  And you don’t.

One thought on “Hi. My name is Bethany and I love coffee.

Leave a Reply

