Taco Soup

IMG_0013

One of my friends at work told me about this soup she made the other day.  When she gave me the recipe for Taco Soup I thought to myself…eh, this might be good.  I had no idea…

Honestly, if I hadn’t had most of the ingredients in my pantry I might not have made it.  It sounded a little like chili to me and I’m not a huge fan of chili.  I did have to make a couple substitutions (in bold next to the original ingredient) simply because I didn’t have exactly what the recipe called for, but I’m sure it would be great either way.

Turns out, this soup is like chili and it isn’t like chili at the same time.  Either way…it’s fantastic!

IMG_0016Taco Soup
1 large can whole kernel corn
1 can black beans
1 can cannelloni beans
1 cup chunky salsa
1 packet taco seasoning
1 large can tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes
1 lb ground turkey
1/4 cup hot sauce

Mix everything together including the liquids from the cans of beans in a large stock pot, let come to a boil, and then reduce temperature to medium low.  Cook for at least 35-45 minutes.  The longer it cooks, the better it tastes.

Update:  It’s 2015 (so five years after I initially posted this recipe) and I can safely say this is one of my favorite soups to make.  I’ve gifted it to several people over the years and even those who say they HATE beans like this soup.  So if the beans are throwing you for a loop, just try it.  If you don’t like it, take it to work and be a hero.

3 thoughts on “Taco Soup

  1. Is that:1 can whole kernel corn OR 1/2 family size bag Green Giant 1 can black eyed peas OR 1 can black beans1-2 cans of other beans OR 1 can cannelloni beansI have not done a lot on recipes.

  2. Pingback: Week 26 | One Girl's Taste On Life

Leave a Reply

