Crock Pot Roast & Roasted Potatoes…A Sunday Classic

I haven’t had pot roast in years.  I always forget about how fantastic it is!  I don’t know why.  The other day I was trying to find a bunch of recipes for the crock pot that sounded good.  I ended up deciding on Pot Roast because I knew Jeff liked it and I knew it would be extra simple to make.  I went on my favorite website Allrecipes and did my traditional search through their wonderfulness of goodies.  I found the following recipe:

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast
2 cans condensed cream of mushroom soup (I used the 98% fat free)
1 package dry onion soup mix
1 1/4 cups water
5.5 lb pot roast*

Basically you just mix up the top three ingredients real well, throw in your pot roast, and set your cooker on low for 8-9 hours or high for 5-6 hours.  It was delightful.  I use those slow cooker liners so I dont’ have to fool with scrubbing my cooker after.  Works miracles.

*I always have a problem knowing which cut of meat to use.  I mean they don’t typically have “pot roast” stamped on the label at my grocery store.  Therefore, before I went I googled the best cuts of meat to use.  I suggest you do this with anything you are unsure of.  Just my opinion. 

To accompany this, I decided to try a recipe I found on another blog: Her name is Ree and she is fabulous.

 Roasted Garlic New Potatoes
2-3 pounds new potatoes, quartered
2 heads of garlic with the top sliced off
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup white wine (or you could use chicken broth if you don’t like using alcohol)
salt & pepper

Lay all the potatoes on a baking sheet in a single layer.  Place the heads of garlic around the potatoes.  Drizzle everything with the olive oil and wine, making sure to include the garlic.  Sprinkle the mix with the salt and pepper.  Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes.  Uncover and bake an additional 20-30 minutes or until the potatoes get all nice and golden.  If you really love garlic, squeeze some of the roasted garlic onto toast or rolls.  Yum.

**One thing I like about Ree’s blog is that she includes photos for every step of the cooking process.  If you cook better with a visual, you should definitely check out her blog! 

One thought on “Crock Pot Roast & Roasted Potatoes…A Sunday Classic

Leave a Reply

