Make Your Own Footwarmers

My feet are the first thing to get cold in the winter and sometimes, no matter how many blankets I pile on, they just will not get warm!  One year, many moons ago, my mom got me a product Jeff and I lovingly refer to as the “corn bags”.  Actually, Jeff refers to them as the “stinky, smelly, corn bags”.  They do kinda smell…a little like burnt popcorn.

Anyhow, they are cloth bags filled with dried corn kernels you can put in the microwave and heat up.  They hold the heat for a long time.  They are great for cramps, sore muscles, and of course heating up your cold feet in the winter.

The bags my mom got for me a long time ago have pretty much run their course.  I have used and reused them so much I think I actually am burning the corn now when I heat them up.  That being the case, I set out to make my own.

I had tried this in the past, but did not know where to get the corn part.  Plus, part of the reason I wanted to make new ones was to get rid of the icky corn smell Jeff hated so much.  After lots of research online I found out you can use rice.  Yay!  Easy to find and CHEAP!  Wanna make your own?  Here’s how:

You will need:
1 piece of cloth approximately 12″ x 8″ (or whatever size you’d like your bag to be)  *remember: you want to measure length by double the width since you will be folding the cloth over to make a bag.  In this case my finished product is 12″ by 4″ approximately.
Needle & thred the color of your cloth
1 bag of rice to fill the cloth bag
Tea leaves (optional)

First, decide how long you want your bag.  I wanted mine to fit across both of my feet with a little hangover on each side so it can comfortably lay on my feet and not slide off the side.  Then pick out a pretty cloth from the craft store or find a scrap piece of cloth laying around your house if you don’t care about aesthetics.  I chose an old hand towel I didn’t care about.  I cut it in half width wise and then (when folded) it was the perfect size bag.

Next, sew two of the sides together to create a seam.  If you are putting two separate pieces of cloth together instead of folding the cloth in half, you will have to sew three sides together.  Either way, you want all the sides except for one to be sewn closed.  Make sure you make the seam pretty tight.  Rice is small and there is a chance of it escaping if there are any holes in the seam.

Once your seam is created, fold your bag inside out so the sewn part is on the inside.  If you choose to mix some tea in with your rice, do so now and then place the rice mixture in the cloth bag.  Don’t overfill.  You still need to sew the final seam so the bag is complete.

Speaking of which, go ahead and finish your bag.  After all your seams are in place, you are left with a bag that can be heated over and over again to warm your tootsies.  Each microwave is different, so you may want to start with 2 minutes on high and increase your time little by little.  My perfect temp is between 3 & 3:30 minutes. 

4 thoughts on “Make Your Own Footwarmers

  1. They are PERFECT for gifts, Allison! Especially if you find a really pretty cloth to use. You can either use a towel, as I did, or a piece of cotton cloth. My old one was made of cotton. Also, I only used about 1/4 cup of tea per bag of rice. If I were to make it again, I'd probably double the amount of tea. I would also use something soothing smelling, like chamomile or eucalyptus. One article I read online said to avoid using lavender. I'm not quite sure why though…

Leave a Reply

