Exercise Music

Apparently I’m on a blogging kick today.  Must be something in the air.  Anyhow…

I just got back from a walk and I was thinking about how hard it is for me to find good walking/running music.  I’m sure lots of other people have this same problem.  I have googled and ituned and blog searched my little heart out and I’ve decided it is SO HARD to find the kind of music I want. 

Any time you search for workout music, you get tons of results for all kinds of weird, crazy music.  Lots of techno (which is sometimes fun to work out to), rerecorded pop songs (I’d like to hear the original versions please), and music that just doesn’t make sense as workout music.

Therefore, I am sharing my list of music I like to listen to when I work out.  I would love love love suggestions for more music.  I prefer to find regular songs that have a good beat as opposed to remixed versions of regular songs. 

Justin Timberlake-Like I Love You
Red Hot Chili Peppers-Higher Ground
Black Eyed Peas-Ring A Ling
Black Eyed Peas-Electric City
Daft Punk-Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger
Nelly-Ride With Me
The Clash-Should I Stay or Should I Go
Janet Jackson-Doesn’t Really Matter
Lenny Kravitz-Lady
Michael Jackson-Scream
Michael Jackson-Thriller (it’s actually a really good song to walk to)
Michael Jackson-Smooth Criminal
Missy Elliot-Ching-a-Ling
Black Eyed Peas-Boom Boom Pow
Black Eyed Peas-I Gotta Feeling
Bob Segar-Old Time Rock & Roll
Britney Spears-Freakshow
Charlie Daniels Band-Devil Went Down to Georgia
Roisin Murphy-Ruby Blue
Santana-Smooth
Britney Spears-Ooh Ooh Baby
Georgia Satellites-Keep Your Hands To Yourself
Lady GaGa-LoveGame
Lady GaGa-The Fame
Lady GaGa-Starstruck
Red Hot Chili Peppers-Snow
Akon-Freedom
Avril Lavigne-Girlfriend
Big & Rich-Save a Horse, Ride a Cowboy
Britney Spears-Me Against the Music (Justice Remix) *I do like some remixes
Britney Spears-Mmm Papi
Britney Spears-Overprotected (Darkchild Remix)
Britney Spears-Piece of Me (Boz o Lo Remix)
Coolio-1,2,3,4
Deniece Williams-Let’s Hear It For The Boy
Everclear-Local God
iiO-Be It   *I do like some techno too
Jamiroquai-Cosmic Girl
Janet Jackson-All For You
Katharine McPhee-Open Toes
KT Tunstall-Black Horse & the Cherry Tree
Lady GaGa-Beautiful, Dirty, Rich
Marilyn Manson-Tainted Love (weird, I know)
Mario-Music for Love
Theory of a Deadman-Bad Girlfriend
War-Low Rider
Black Eyed Peas-Pump It
Britney Spears-Get Back
Britney Spears-Trouble
Britney Spears-Circus (Villians Remix)
Britney Spears-Do Somethin’
Britney Spears-Me Against the Music (Rishi Rich’s Desi Kulcha remix)
Earth, Wind, & Fire-Boogie Wonderland (again…weird I know)
Enur-Calabria 2008 (feat. Natasja)
Foo Fighters-Learn To Fly
Gomez-How We Operate
iiO-The One
Jamiroquai-Canned Heat
Janet Jackson-Feedback
Janet Jackson-The 1
Katy Perry-Waking Up In Vegas
Kenny Loggins-Footloose
Kylie Minogue-Can’t Get You Out of My Head
Lady GaGa-Summerboy
Lady Sovereign-Love Me or Hate Me
The McCoys-Hang On Sloopy
Missy Elliot-Shake Your Pom Pom
Red Hot Chili Peppers-The Zephyr Song
Shiny Toy Guns-Major Tom
Theory of a Deadman-Got It Made
Theory of a Deadman-Little Smirk
Black Eyed Peas-Don’t Lie
Estelle-American Boy
Finger Eleven-Paralyzer
Foo Fighters-Breakout
Foo Fighters-Generator
Justin Timberlake-Love Stoned
Justin Timberlake-Damn Girl
Justin Timberlake-Losing My Way
Leona Lewis-Bleeding Love
Madonna-Hung Up
Madonna-Music
Madonna-4 Minutes
Metro Station-Shake It
Miley Cyrus-See You Again
The Offspring-The Kids Aren’t Alright

This is a very weird, very ecclectic mix, but it keeps me entertained for the most part.  I am always on the hunt for new, fun, get-me-moving music though, so if you have any suggestions, please leave me a comment and let me know.  Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Exercise Music

  1. I just recently posted a few playlists w/ over 7 hrs of music for runners based on their running pace. The songs have a faster Beats Per Minute (BPM) so you don't subconsciously slow down to the beat of a song. This can be the same for workout music as well, you don't want something slow when you are trying to get pumped up. We have a few bands in common like Black Eyed Peas, the Clash, WAR, and Michael Jackson. I also have bands you might enjoy like Gorillaz, Gnarls Barkley, Phoenix, Peter Bjorn and John, OutKast, Big Audio Dynamite, etc. All songs are either inspirational, about running, or just fun. Check it out at: http://www.remanents.com/blog/best-running-music-playlist-marathon/

  2. Bethany, I've been reading your blogs lately and really like what you're doing. I've copied several recipes…now I just need to start cooking more! Not my strong point! I wanted to comment on your music selection. We've got a lot of the same taste! I love Foo Fighters, Red Hot Chili Peppers, JT, etc. I thought since we share some similarities you might like to try out MUSE. They are awesome!! I love working out to them because you can kind of "jam out" (For lack of better word)…it just kind of puts you in the zone! 🙂 Hope all is well your way. You look great! Where do you live now? Anyway…just thought I'd let you know you have a supporter. Talk soon… Whitney (Simmons) Coleman

  3. Pingback: Run Around | One Girl's Taste On Life

  4. I don’t comment, but after reading through a great deal of remarks on Exercise Music | One Girl’s
    Taste On Life. I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or do a few of these comments appear like they are written by brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with you. Would you post a list of the complete urls of all your social community sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

