Secret Banana Muffins

I love to bake and my husband love to eat what I bake.  He doesn’t really have to worry about what he eats though (stupid boys), but I do.  Well, every fall we love to have Banana or Pumpkin bread.  This fall is no exception.  I did decide to make our breads healthier this year though. 


Last Christmas (I think) I got the Deceptively Delicious cookbook.  It’s written by Jerry Seinfeld’s wife about how to incorporate more fruits and vegetables into otherwise less healthy foods.  One of her recipes was for Banana Bread.  Here’s her recipe:


Banana Bread with cauliflower  (Yeah, you read that right.  Weird, isn’t it?)
by Jessica Seinfeld


3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)
1/2 cup firmly packed light or dark brown sugar
1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil  I used 1/4 cup applesauce to cut more calories
2 large egg whites
1.5 cups banana puree
1/2 cup cauliflower puree*
1 tsp pure vanilla extract


1.  Preheat the oven to 350º.  Coat a 9×5 inch loaf pan, or 2 mini pans, or a 12 cup muffin tin as I did with nonstick cooking spray.


2.  In a bowl or a zipper lock bag, mix the flours with the baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon, if using.  Set aside.


3.  In a large mixing bowl, mix the sugar and oil until well combined.  Mix in the egg whites, banana and cauliflower purees, and vanilla.  Add the flour mixture and mix just until combined.


4.  Pour the batter into the loaf pan.  Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 55 to 60 minutes for the large loaf, 25 to 30 minutes for the mini loaves.  Let cool on a rack for 5 minutes then turn the bread out of the pan to cool before serving.  If using a muffin tin, cook for 25 to 30 minutes.  I took mine out at 20 minutes and had to return it to the oven for an additional 10 minutes.


Makes one large loaf, two small loaves, or 15 muffins.  I used two medium cookie scoops (one of those OXO scoops) per muffin.  You are really going to love this though…there are 95 calories per muffin!  Fantastic!  And since they are made with whole wheat flour, they keep you fuller longer.  Pair with a tablespoon of natural peanut butter for a really great midday snack!


*To make the cauliflower puree, I thawed a frozen bag of cauliflower and blended it in my food processor with about a tablespoon of water until smooth, which took about 2 minutes.  I only needed 1/2 cup for this recipe, so I portioned the rest and froze it for another time.


ENJOY!  If you make these, let me know if you liked them and what, if anything, you did differently.

One thought on “Secret Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

