I’ll Be A Runner Yet

I. Hate. Running.  But I love the way it feels to be done with it!  I go through phases where I want to become a runner, so I run for a week or so and then I decide I don’t want to be a runner and just walk instead.  Granted at least I’m not saying “screw this” and not working out at all, but still.

Yesterday was my “I’m going to become a runner” beginning day.  Let me give you a little more back story on me.  When I was in high school, I was not an athlete.  I worked.  I had an afterschool job I went to pretty much every day.  Even though my work had a gym, I still did not work out very much.  I was never taught the “right way” to run.

In college, I began working out a little bit more, but I still wasn’t athletic by any means.  I told myself walking around campus was enough cardio for me.  There was a gym in the basement of my dorm, so I did join it for one semester, but eventually grew bored with it and stopped working out.

In the past couple years, I have gotten better.  I go to the gym more frequently, but typically get bored or make excuses and end up not going for one, two, eight months in a row.  Finally, about six weeks ago, I decided it was time to get serious.  My best friend, Carolyn, and I are accountable to each other.  We contact each other every Monday and discuss weight loss, motivation issues, and our strengths and weaknesses from the previous week.  We agree this is a great thing and have really benefitted from our decision to do this.  Not only does it help us stay on track, but I believe it has brought us closer together.  It is hard to be very close to someone who lives two hours away, but we manage.

Anyhow, so yesterday I went to the gym and decided I really wanted to teach myself to run.  My goal (as pathetic as some people may find it) is to run a mile.  I have never in my life run a mile, or at least not that I can remember.  I may have done it some time when I was a child, but as an adult I have never done it.  So I started slow yesterday.  I ran .25 miles, walked .25 miles and continued at this pace for 3 miles.  Today I did the same thing, but only for 2 miles since I was lifting as well today. 

Slow and stead is the motto now.  I am going to keep this pace up for a week.  Then next week I will increase it.  Everyone I have talked to reminds me that building endurance takes a looooooong time and I have no intention of rushing it.  If I rush it, I’m afraid I will get discouraged I’m not getting any better and quit.  I’m one of those all or nothing people.  I want to be able to get on the treadmill and just run.  I can’t do that.  My husband, *sneer*, can do that.  He got on the treadmill a few months ago after not having done cardio in years and ran something like three miles his first day.  He did play soccer and ran track in high school so he has a background but still!!  I was infuriated.  Oh well.  I still love him even if he is better at running than me!

So, that is the goal.  Keep the training at a steady pace and eventually run a mile.  How fantastic would that be?

3 thoughts on “I’ll Be A Runner Yet

  1. I am sort of doing my own version of Couch to 5K. My friend showed me this when I expressed interest in running a while ago. I have heard nothing but good things about it. Thanks for the thought!

Leave a Reply

