Grilled Pizza

As my mom suggested on a previous post, I thought I’d share my recipe for grilled pizza.  It is a healthy and tasty way to get in lots of veggies while still feeling like you’re indulging.  This is the pizza I make, but the possibilites of toppings, sauces, and flavors are endless so pick what you like to eat.  Enjoy!

Grilled Pizza

1 ball of whole wheat dough*
basil pesto
chopped sundried tomatoes
sauteed mushrooms
onion
pepper
arugula
chopped garlic
fresh mozzerella**
proscuitto
nonstick aluminum foil
olive oil

First thing you want to do is preheat your grill.  You want your grill to be pretty hot when you put the dough on it.  You may also want to go ahead and cover the grates with nonstick aluminum foil now so you don’t have to mess with it when the grill is hot.  Then you need to prepare all your toppings ahead of time.  Once you start grilling you won’t have that much time to do other things aside from watching your food.  I saute my mushrooms in just a tiny bit of olive oil with salt and pepper.  I also cook my onion, pepper, and garlic together just to soften them up a little. 

Roll out your pizza dough to the size you prefer.  I typically divide my dough into three sections: two bigger, personal pizza sized sections and one smaller size for dessert pizza***.  If you haven’t already covered your grill grate with aluminum foil, now is the time to do it.  Then brush your pizza dough with a dot of olive oil on one side and any herbs or spices you like.  Italian seasoning, garlic or onion powder, or salt and pepper work great here.  Throw the oiled size down on the grill and cook the dough until it is lightly browned just like you were toasting bread.  The oil helps it to brown better. 

Take the pizza back inside and brush the non-browned size with oil and any herbs you like.  Then load up your pizza with the toppings of your choice.  I am normally a fan of meat on my pizza, but with all the yummy toppings listed above, I only used one slice of proscuitto.  You may also have noticed I did not list pizza sauce as one of the ingredients.  I just don’t care for pizza sauce on this pizza.  I use a little pesto instead.  Just remember, it is a strong flavor so a little goes a long way. 

After all your toppings are in place, put the pizza back on the grill and cook until the cheese is melted and all the ingredients are nicely warmed.  I wait to top my pizza with arugula after it is done cooking simply because I like cold greens on my pizza. 

*If you have a hard time finding pizza dough, check with a local pizza place.  They will usually sell you a ball or two of dough for a reasonable fee.  I get mine at a gourmet grocery store that serves fresh whole wheat dough, but you can also use the dough that you find in the refrigerated section by Pilsbury.  It’s just as good, though it’s not whole wheat.

**If you are grating fresh mozzerella, throw it in the freezer for 30 minutes to an hour to harden in up.  Or you can use a food processor with the grater attachment.

***A yummy dessert (copycatted from Papa Johns) is to take your leftover dough, brush it with a little vegetable oil (you want to avoid using olive oil here since the flavor is so strong) and cook the pizza on one side.  Then flip it over, add butter to this side like you’re buttering toast, and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.  Mmmmm.  If you so desire, you can melt a tablespoon or so of butter and mix in some powdered sugar and vanilla to make a drizzle for the top.

One thought on “Grilled Pizza

Leave a Reply

