Microwave Cleaning Trick

I’m sure many people out there know the trick to cleaning microwaves, but I just recently learned it. Two words: vinegar and water. Our microwave was DISGUSTING. I am not sure how it got this way, all I know is I kept forgetting to clean it, or I kept putting it off and putting it off until one day I opened it and it looked like this. Eww. So today, as I am getting the house ready for my mom’s visit, it was imperative that I clean the microwave. I knew there was an easy way to clean it, but couldn’t for the life of me remember. Good thing google and I are such great pals. I looked it up and discovered all I needed was a glass bowl half full of water with a tablespoon of vinegar. I went ahead and added more like a 1/4 cup of vinegar just to make sure it did the trick. Then I put the bowl in the microwave on high for 5 minutes. The purpose of this step is to steam the baked on food particles so they loosen up their grip and you can, hopefully, wipe them right off.

So after 5 minutes, I opened the microwave, took out the bowl of water carefully and used dry paper towels to wipe off the door. Oh. My. Word. I was amazed at the ease of cleaning the door!!! I kept going and found it just as easy to clean the rest of the appliance. It was even easier when I went the paper towel with the vinegar/water solution. You have to be very careful when doing this step as well because the water is near boiling. I would just put a little corner of the towel in and then sort of fold it back on itself so it wasn’t touching any part of my hand.

Cleaning the microwave took literally 5 minutes (aside from the 5 minutes it took to boil the water). Now my appliance looks like this: If you have any cleaning tips, please leave me a comment so I can put them to use!

One thought on “Microwave Cleaning Trick

  1. Thinking of you, so I read your blog. Thanks for the cleaning tip. My home and work microwave get dirty regularly. I'll try to remember the vinegar and water tip for the next cleaning!

Leave a Reply

