Soups, Soups, and More Soups

I am forming an addiction to soups. It started last winter. All I wanted for lunch was soup! Applebee’s has the best French Onion and Tomato Basil soups around. I have this problem, though, that for some reason soup coming from a restaurant tastes better than soup from a can or from my own home. Weird, isn’t it? Anyhow, so I would go to Kroger every day on my lunch break and get soup. The only problem with this is that it would take me 10-15 minutes to drive to Kroger, go in, get my soup, pay, and get back to Walgreens. And then there was always the possibility that they wouldn’t be serving a soup I liked. They tend to have Broccoli Cheese and Chicken Chili, two soups I’m not crazy about. Also, if it was rainy or snowy outside, I would not want to walk through the parking lot and get my pant legs wet just for some soup.

Taking these factors into consideration, I decided to try to find a replacement for the Applebee’s Tomato Basil. I had gotten Campbell’s Condensed Tomato a while back and did not like it at all. It tasted like the “broth” from Spaghettios. Ick. Then yesterday I spotted a new item at Kroger: Progresso High Fiber Tomato Basil. Worth a try I thought. So for dinner last night I heated it up on the stove and served it to Jeff and myself with a little grating of parmesan cheese. It was fan-tastic! So yummy!

I picked up some other soups from Kroger as well that I am going to try. I got another condensed soup: Chicken Won Ton. I had it for lunch today and was not super crazy about it. It really just tasted like condensed Chicken Noodle but in a different form. I wouldn’t write home about it, but I wouldn’t throw it out either. What are some of your favorite canned (or homemade) soups?
Leave a Reply

